How To Apply for Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Effortlessly
If you’re a victim of a violent crime in Ohio or a family member of the victim, you’re probably dealing with many unexpected costs. Handling high medical or funeral bills is a challenge for most people, especially when coping with a traumatic event. The Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program can help you cover your expenses and concentrate on healing instead.
Learn how to apply for violent crime victims compensation in Ohio in a matter of minutes with DoNotPay’s help.
Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program Explained
The Crime Victims Compensation Program in Ohio helps victims of violent crimes—such as homicide, domestic violence, and sexual assault—and their family members cover crime-related costs. As opposed to most states where compensation applications are reviewed by the Crime Victims Compensation Board, the program in Ohio is administered by the Ohio Attorney General.
The State of Ohio’s Crime Victim Compensation Program receives money from:
- The Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant
- Offender fines (felony, misdemeanor, and license-reinstatement for drunk driving)
You should apply for victims compensation if your other collateral sources—including restitution, Medicaid, and similar—fail to cover all expenses.
In most states, victims need to:
- Report the crime to the police in the first 72 hours
- Apply for compensation within two or three years of filing a police report
When it comes to Ohio, you can report the crime to the police and apply for the Crime Victims Compensation Program whenever you want.
The application process can be confusing, which is why DoNotPay has developed an easy-to-use product to help you apply for the program in a few clicks.
DoNotPay Can Help You Apply for Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program in a Flash
Most victims or their family members aren’t aware that crime victims compensation funds and programs exist, which is why a small percentage of individuals apply. The second reason is the not-so-user-friendly application procedure that can be challenging for people who aren’t tech-savvy.
According to a College of Criminal Justice report, only around 200,000 victims in the U.S. apply for these benefits each year. This is a low number considering that a 2018 report shows that there were around six million violent crime victims in America that year.
DoNotPay’s Compensation for Crime Victims product assists victims of any violent crime—including domestic violence and terrorist attacks—in applying for compensation programs in under five minutes. If you’d like to try out our product, sign up for DoNotPay and do the following:
- Open Compensation for Crime Victims
- Indicate whether you’re:
- The victim
- A family member of the victim
- Respond to all our questions
- Verify your signature
DoNotPay will complete your application and send it to the appropriate office in Ohio or any other state, including:
Who Qualifies for Victims of Crime Compensation in Ohio?
The following table shows who qualifies for the Crime Victims Compensation Program in Ohio and who doesn’t:
|Eligible To Receive Compensation||Not Eligible To Receive Compensation|
What Costs Does Crime Victims Compensation in Ohio Cover?
The total payments of the Crime Victims Compensation Program in Ohio can’t exceed $50,000 per claim. Here’s an overview of all compensable expenses and the maximum compensable amounts:
|Compensable Costs||Maximum Compensable Amount|
|Mental health counseling||$50,000 for the first victim
$2,500 for every family member as long as the total amount doesn’t exceed $7,500
|Lost wages and support||Not specified|
|Replacement services (housekeeping and childcare)||Not specified|
|Crime scene cleanup and service repairs||$750|
|Evidence replacement (car, clothing, and similar)||$750|
|Travel for medical treatment||Not specified|
|Attorney fees for appeals||$1,000|
The compensation program doesn’t cover costs for:
- Pain and suffering
- Lost, stolen, or damaged property
How To Appeal a Response to Your Crime Victims Compensation Application
If you’re not happy with the approved compensated amount or your application got rejected, you can file an appeal with the Ohio Court of Claims. You should send an appeal letter within 30 days of being informed about the Attorney General Office’s decision. The judge will make the final decision regarding your appeal.
To find out more about the appeal process, you can contact the Ohio Court of Claims by:
- Calling (614) 466-6480
- Sending a fax to (614) 644-8553
- Sending a letter to Ohio Judicial Center, 65 Front St., 4th floor, Columbus, OH 43215
DoNotPay Can Do Your Paperwork for You!
Feeling like you’re in bureaucratic hell? Our app will draft the paperwork you need and get you out of any hurdle before you know it!
We can compose most of the documents that you require for any administrative purpose in your jurisdiction, most notably:
- Legal forms for the small claims court disputes in your state
- Court scripts so you don’t get lost for words in front of the judge
- Parking ticket appeals
- Extension letters and fee waivers for your overdue bills
- Warranty claims
- Cease and desist letters for stalkers and harassers bolstered by applicable state and federal laws
- Dispute letters for chargebacks and refunds
- DMCA takedown notices
- Forgotten property claims
- College fee waiver applications
- Application emails for clinical trials in your area that boost your chances of enrollment
- Digitized letters for keeping in touch with your imprisoned loved ones that comply with the local prison practices
- Insurance claims
More of What We Can Do for You
Our multifaceted app can call and record the conversation with the customer service of the company that just won’t let you go! If you are having trouble canceling an unwanted service via the traditional channels, use DoNotPay to get it over and done with!
We’ll also lend a helping hand in stopping spam mail—whether it’s electronic or paper. Our Spam Collector product unsubscribes you from unwanted emails and cleans up your physical mailbox too!