Get Your New to Texas Car Registration Renewal the Easy Way
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) tends to have a bit of a reputation for being a frustrating and time-consuming place to visit. If you need to register your car or renew your vehicle registration, you should not have to wait in long lines or deal with customer service issues.
If you are is probably at the top of your list. DoNotPay is here to answer your questions and make the process easier.
How to Register Your Car in Texas as a New Resident
As a resident, here is what you need to know about registering your car in the Lone Star state.
- The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) handles vehicle registration.
- You must complete your car registration within 30 days of moving to Texas.
- Your vehicle must be inspected - you can take it to any certified Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) inspection station. Be sure to take your insurance card. You can usually find a certified DPS inspection station at mechanic shops, oil change locations, or general service stations.
- Visit your local county tax office with all required documents.
- First-time Texas residents must complete an Application for Texas Title and/or Registration.
- Pay the appropriate fees.
- While you are at the tax assessor-collector's office, you can ask to be signed up for eReminder, which will send you an email reminder for renewal.
- Make sure you get your Texas driver's license from the Texas Department of Public Safety within 90 days of moving to the state to comply with the law.
- You are not required to title your vehicle in Texas but must fill out the application for registration.
- Active duty members of the U.S. Armed forces are not required to register or title their vehicle in Texas.
- Non-resident, full-time students that are attending college or university in Texas are also not required to register/title their vehicles in Texas.
What Documents Do I Need to Register My Car in Texas?
There are a variety of documents you will need before you can .
- Your insurance card or insurance policy that shows you have minimum required coverage. Minimum insurance coverage is $30,000 per injured person, up to a total of $60,000 for everyone injured, plus $25,000 in property damage coverage.
- Proof of inspection (Vehicle Inspection Report.)
- Proof of vehicle ownership - the title or registration from your previous state of residence will work.
How Much Does it Cost to Register a Vehicle in Texas?
The state of Texas charges a base rate, but counties can charge additional fees, therefore vehicle registration fees may vary from one county to the next.
- Base Rate - $50.75
- TexasSure - $ 1.00
- County Fees - may be assessed and will vary by county
- Sales Tax-Related Fees - $90, or the difference between Texas sales tax and the state sales tax of your previous state
Get Your Car Registration Renewal With the Help of DoNotPay
In many states, the renewal of car registration can be lengthy and tedious. Whether you need to get your , or in any other state, DoNotPay has a simple solution. We'll save you the time and stress associated with the DMV and paperwork.
If you want to renew your car registration but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 5 easy steps:
- Go to the Renew Car Registrations product on DoNotPay.
- Answer a few questions about your current vehicle, including the license plate number, vehicle identification number, make and model, etc.
- Verify your identity with a state driver's license and registration documents.
- Decide how long you want to extend the renewal for (if your state offers multiple options)
- Pay the registration fee (or let us automatically calculate it if you aren't sure).
DoNotPay Can Help You Get Your Car Registration Renewed Across All 50 States
No matter where you live, DoNotPay can help you understand car registration renewal and help you navigate the process seamlessly.
|New Mexico||South Dakota||Arizona||Connecticut||Rhode Island|
|New York||Illinois||Vermont||Washington||West Virginia|
|Mississippi||North Dakota||Colorado||Delaware||New Jersey|
|North Carolina||Missouri||Virginia||Georgia||South Carolina|
How Else Does DoNotPay Help?
Helping you get your is just one of the many things that DoNotPay can do for you today.
- Dispute Parking Tickets
- Help with Seatbelt Tickets
- Get Documents Notarized
- Schedule DMV Appointments
- Handle Standardized Legal Documents
Whatever problem or concern you are facing, DoNotPay has a solution!