The Best Way to Get Your Mississippi Hunting License

Hunting Licenses The Best Way to Get Your Mississippi Hunting License

The Best Way to Get Your Mississippi Hunting License

Numerous programs in Mississippi allow you to hunt specific animals at specific times. More than just deer, residents with a Mississippi hunting license may hunt turkey, alligators, waterfowl, black bears, quail, doves, squirrels, and rabbits. You'll have limitations and timeframes for different hunts, so always be sure to check with the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, and Parks before heading out.

When you need a license, you don't have to go through the trouble of obtaining one independently. Let DoNotPay help, and you'll have your hunting license in hand promptly. 

Hunting in Mississippi

You're allowed to hunt on your own land in Mississippi without any sort of license. However, if you plan on hunting state lands or want to hunt on a buddy's property, you will need proof of licensing with you at all times. There are also shooting hours to abide by. You can only shoot between a half-hour before sunrise and a half-hour after sunset.

In Mississippi, there are 14 Wildlife Management Areas. These areas allow you to hunt during designated times, as long as you have both your state license and a permit for these spots. These areas include:

  1. Bienville
  2. Caney Creek
  3. Caston Creek
  4. Chickasaw
  5. Chickasawhay
  6. Choctaw
  7. Leaf River
  8. Little Biloxi
  9. Mason Creek
  10. Red Creek
  11. Sandy Creek
  12. Sunflower
  13. Tallahala
  14. Upper Sardis

Always watch out for the yellow signs posted. Stay 150 yards away from residences, buildings, roadways, trails, and any designated recreational areas where people may be present for other activities unrelated to hunting.

Who is Eligible to Hunt in Mississippi?

Not everyone is eligible to hunt in the state. Only those with a license can do so. You can also only obtain a license once you've passed a Hunter's Education Course. Any person born on or after January 1, 1972, must pass this course.

You must be at least 16 years old to get a hunting license in Mississippi. Those between the ages of 16 and 64 must have one in the state. Seniors above that age can still hunt without paying an annual fee.

You must not attempt to obtain a hunting license unlawfully. Do not use another person's name or provide false information. Doing so could result in up to one year in jail and/or a $2,000 fine.

Mississippi Hunting License Costs

The cost for a Mississippi hunting license varies, depending on your age, the type of license you need, and whether you're a state resident or a non-resident.

Resident Fees

License NameWhat It IncludesPrice
Small Game Hunting/Freshwater FishingHunt small game like rabbits and fish in freshwaters$10
Avid Angler PackageSmall game hunting/freshwater fishing license, saltwater fishing license, 1-year magazine subscription$20
All Game Hunting/Freshwater FishingHunt all game and fish in freshwaters$25
Waterfowl Hunter PackageHunt small game and waterfowl, WMA user permit, 1-year magazine subscription$35
Sportsman's LicenseAll game and freshwater, fall turkey hunting, and the use of a crossbow$45
Deer Hunter PackageSportsman license, WMA user permit, 1-year magazine subscription$60
Mississippi Hunter PackageSportsman license, WMA user permit, state waterfowl stamp, 1-year magazine subscription$70
MS Super Sportsman PackageSportsman license, saltwater WMA user permit, state waterfowl stamp, 1-year magazine subscription$80

An agent fee of $1 also applies to all transactions, and you may also have to pay up to $1.70 for a processing fee. Also, note, unless included in your package, you must pay an additional $15 for the Wildlife Management Area User Permit, $14 to use a crossbow, archery, or primitive weapon, and $5 for fall turkey hunting.

Non-Resident Fees

Prices increase exponentially for non-residents because they are already able to obtain licensing in their own state.

License NameWhat It IncludesPrice
NR Avid Angler PackageLicense for freshwater and saltwater fishing, 1-year magazine subscription$90
Small Game HuntingHunt small game and waterfowl$95
NR Waterfowl Hunter PackageHunt small game and waterfowl, 1-year magazine subscription$114
NR Waterfowl Hunter PackageHunt small game and waterfowl, 1-year magazine subscription$114
All Game HuntingHunt all game except deer (waterfowl or archery permit not included)$300
NR Deer Hunter PackageAll game hunting, archery permit, 1-year magazine subscription$380
NR MS Super Sportsman PackageAll game hunting, archery permit, fall and spring turkey permit, deer hunting, waterfowl, 1-year magazine subscription$469

You must separately pay $5 for a deer hunting permit if it is not included in your package and $30 for the WMA user permit.

Where to Get a Mississippi Hunting License on My Own

Use the Customer Portal on the MDWFP website to create an account online and purchase your license yourself. You must provide your Hunter's Education Number and your driver's license number. For someone under the age of 16, a social security number can be used instead.

You can also get a license by calling 1-800-546-4868 or finding an approved vendor to purchase one in person. You can often obtain them from your local Walmart or Bass Bro Shop, among other stores.

Let DoNotPay Obtain Your Mississippi Hunting License Right Now

Three steps are all it takes for DoNotPay to help you obtain your Mississippi hunting license:

  1. Search "hunting license" on DoNotPay and select Mississippi as your state.

     

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, an annual or one-time pass, big game or small game license, bear tag, etc.

     

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

And that's it! DoNotPay will get the hunting license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license, while a physical copy gets processed and sent to you by mail.

Why Use DoNotPay to Get Your Mississippi Hunting License

If you want to get your Mississippi hunting license quickly and with less expense, let DoNotPay help.

  • Fast: You don't have to navigate the online form. Just give some details to DoNotPay, and we do the rest.
  • Easy: We deal with any questions about your hunter's license, so you don't have to.
  • Successful: We've helped thousands of people get their hunting licenses, and we can help you.

What Else Can DoNotPay Help Me Handle?

DoNotPay works across all states. If you need a hunting license in another location, we'll help with that as well. We can also help you handle:

Want your issue solved now?