The Easiest Way to Obtain a Maine Fishing License

Fishing Licenses The Easiest Way to Obtain a Maine Fishing License

The Easiest Way to Obtain a Maine Fishing License

Are you trying to figure out how and where to obtain a Maine fishing license in time to hit the best fishing spots?

Newsweek ranked Maine the third best state to fish in the entire nation. The latest annual value of Maine's fishing industry topped $500 million, which is remarkable for a state with 1.3 million Mainers. Such high numbers mean dozens upon dozens of license applicants and more time before you can obtain your license.

Whether hitting the Cobbosseecontee, Megunticook, or Rangeley Lakes, you need adequate preparation, including obtaining a fishing license early enough. Lucky for you, there is a faster, more convenient, automated, less frustrating way with our ultra-modern fish-licensing app.

Are You Eligible To Get A Fishing License In Maine?

The law is straightforward if you are 16 years and above and plan to fish in Maine's inland waters or transport fish obtained from any of the state's inland waters, you need to have a fishing license.

However, you cannot cast your net just anywhere once you get the license. It's imperative before you start fishing, familiarize yourself with the state's various fishing statutes regardless of your preferred fishing post. For instance, the law mandates you to have your fishing license on you, either in paper or electronic formats, on every fishing trip.

Are There Any Exceptions To The License Rule?

Yes, there are!

You don't need a license if you are:

  • A veteran honorable discharged from the military or national guard and have a 50% or more disability
  • A non-resident veteran whose home state offers fishing license waivers to fellow veterans
  • Members of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, Penobscot Nation, Passamaquoddy Tribe, or the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians. You will need an authentic letter from the governor or the Aroostook Micmac council
  • Not a fishing license holder, but a license holder accompanies you
  • Fishing during Maine's free fishing days

The Different Types of Fishing Licenses in Maine

Maine offers several fishing licenses for both residents and non-residents. Additionally, the state has special licenses only available for military personnel and exchange students. These licenses include:

Lifetime License

A Maine fishing lifetime license allows the holder, both residents, and non-residents, to fish for their lifetime. This license is available to anglers aged 15 years and below and senior folks aged 65 years and above.

Superpack License

You'll have to be a Mainer to purchase this license. It allows you to fish for all legal fish species.

Special Privileges and Complimentary License

These licenses are available to military personnel, exchange students, and Native Americans.

Special Privileges

  • Military personnel (and their families) stationed and permanently residing in Maine
  • Military personnel stationed outside of Maine, but is a Mainer. Their families also enjoy fishing license-discounted rates
  • Exchange students below 21 years living with a family in Maine

Complimentary License

  • Disabled Mainers and non-resident veterans (whose home states also offer complimentary fishing licenses to fellow veterans) with a 50% or more disability and honorably discharged from the military or national guard
  • Native Americans from the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, Penobscot Nation, Passamaquoddy Tribe, or the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, provided they produce a signed statement from the governor or the Aroostook Micmac council

Saltwater Fishing License

If you choose not to undertake saltwater fishing using a saltwater charter operator manned by a recreational saltwater licensed captain, then you need to obtain an annual saltwater fishing license.

However, you are exempt from this rule if you are:

  1. 16 years of age and under
  2. A holder of a valid Maine freshwater fishing license, that's not a lifetime license
  3. A holder of a valid ME Department of Marine Resources (DMR) Commercial fishing license
  4. A Mainer fishing on Memorial Day, or the weekends of July 4th, or Labor Day
  5. A Native American and enrolled in the above-stated groups
  6. Your fishing spot is a dock, pier, or wharf belonging to a holder of a valid recreational saltwater fishing Operator's License
  7. Renting a smelt fishing camp from someone with a valid recreational saltwater fishing Operator's License.
  8. A valid saltwater recreational fishing license holder in another state or with the National Registry.

What is the Cost of a Maine Fishing License?

Depending on the license you wish to buy, you can expect the following fees:

Residents

Season Fishing (16 and older)$25
Combination Fishing and Hunting$43
Combination Fishing and Archery$43
1-Day Fishing$11
Service member Combination$3
Service member Dependent Combination$20
Service member Dependent Fishing$10
Duplicate (from the agent who issued original)$2
Superpack$201

Non-Residents

Season Fishing (16 and older)$64
Combination Fishing and Hunting$150
15-Day Fishing$47
7-Day Fishing$43
3-Day Fishing$23
1-Day Fishing $11

Maine Lifetime License

Residents

5 years old and under$150
6-15 years$300
65 years$50
66 years$40
67 years$30
68 years$20
69 years$10
70 years and above$8

Non-Residents

5 years & below$450
6 – 15 years$900

 

How to Obtain a Maine Fishing License On Your Own

Before the fishing season commences, ensure you have your license ready. The various places to get a fishing license in Maine include:

  • Online - From your browser, access MOSES to purchase your fishing license.
  • Via agents - If unable to access MOSES, you can look for various fishing agents, such as sporting goods outlets, multiple convenience stores, town clerks, and turnpike service centers.
  • In-person - Visit the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife at 284 State Street, Augusta, ME 04333-0041

Maine Lifetime License

If you need a lifetime license, you can:

  • Download and fill a resident lifetime license application or
  • Download and fill a non-resident lifetime license application form. After filling the forms accordingly, you can mail or take them in person to the department's offices.

Complimentary Veteran license

If you are a veteran and need a complimentary fishing license, you can visit the Maine Bureau of Veterans Services Central Office (Camp Keyes) at 194 Winthrop Street Augusta, ME 04333.

You can also send an email to mainebvs@maine.gov.

Saltwater License

You obtain a saltwater license in the following ways:

  1. Online for $1 through the Maine DMR LEEDS licensing system
  2. Via mail
  3. Download and print the application form. Fill it out, and mail it to DMR with a $1 payment.
  4. In-person. After filling out the form, you can take it to the Maine Department of Marine Resources (DMR) office with a $1 charge or any ME Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife appointed license agent for $2.

The sheer types, requirements, and the number of licenses are enough to disorient you. You can even make the mistake of purchasing the wrong license. Worse still, circumstances can make you unable to visit the DMR offices in person, such as health issues, lack of time, or a disabled veteran. What if you aren't proficient with online portals?

There are numerous ways to get a fishing license in Maine, but the truth is, there are a lot of ways getting it on your own can go wrong. Worst-case scenario, you might start the season much later than your fellow anglers! However, with DoNotPay, you do not have to experience such issues. So, if your DIY methods fail, worry not; here is what to do next.

The Easier Way to Get Your Fishing License Using DoNotPay

If you want to get your fishing license but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 3 easy steps:

  1. Search "fishing license" on DoNotPay and select the state you would like a fishing license for.

     

  2. Indicate whether you are a resident or non-resident, and choose the type of license you want. For example, saltwater vs. freshwater license, three-day only pass, and more.

     

  3. Provide your contact information, a copy of your government-issued ID, and pay the fee required by the state.

     

DoNotPay will get the fishing license on your behalf, which will be valid immediately. No trips are necessary to the local office of licensing agents. Just download the file and print it as a temporary license. A physical copy will be processed and sent to you by mail.

Why Use DoNotPay to Obtain A Maine Fishing License

DoNotPay is like no other fishing platform you've heard of. We've designed the app to be:

  • Lightning-fast by eliminating any slowing processes such as filling numerous forms
  • Convenient since we handle everything online
  • Safe and secure
  • Unbeatable and timely success rates
  • It saves you time and resources

Is There Any Other Task You Can Tackle With DoNotPay?

The short answer: tons. DoNotPay is an ultra-modern tool designed to work across multiple businesses and platforms to handle various challenges with a click of a button.

In record time, we can:

These are just a few of the multitude of guides and solutions DoNotPay provides to help you through many types of situations. With over 250,000 cases successfully resolved, DoNotPay's multi-purpose platform clearly levels the playing field for everyone. 

Want your issue solved now?