A Guide to Getting Time Off for Jury Duty in Wyoming
In this article, we will tell you all you need to know about serving jury duty in Wyoming, including how it works, how long it can take, how much you will be paid, and whether your employer can fire you for it. If you need to take time off and your employer needs to verify your jury duty, you can sign up for DoNotPay and let our app help you.
Potential jurors are summoned from lists of:
- Registered voters
- Licensed Wyoming drivers
After you are summoned, you need to appear in court for voir dire. It is a jury selection process during which judges, defense attorneys, and prosecutors ask questions to determine whether you are impartial to the case and can be objective.
You are eligible for jury duty if you:
- Are a citizen of the U.S. and at least 18
- Have been a resident of Wyoming and that specific county for at least ninety days before being summoned
- Are ordinarily intelligent and have no mental or physical condition that prevents you from performing the duty
- Aren’t convicted of any felony
To prepare for jury duty, you will need to call the trial confirmation line after 5 p.m., one day before the start of the trial. During that phone call, you will find out whether your services are needed.
Check out the table below to see what you can and can’t bring to the courtroom:
|Allowed Items||Forbidden Items|
In Wyoming, you can be called for jury duty once in two years. If you’re called more often than that, you can request to be exempt.
Failing to appear for jury duty is illegal. If you cannot show a good cause for skipping jury duty, you may be arrested, compelled to attend, or charged with contempt of court.
Having a job isn’t a valid reason for not performing jury duty. You cannot be fired or penalized in any way for doing your jury service by law. In Wyoming, your employer must provide you with unpaid time off for jury duty if you show them your jury summons.
You might be able to get out of jury duty only if you can prove that missing work will cause you or your employer undue hardship.
All jurors are paid $50 per day of service. The fees are taxable, but you will only receive an IRS 1099 if you get $600 or more. If you live ten miles from the city limits (where you are summoned), you will receive $0.56 per traveled mile.
Our app will help you draft a leave request letter that complies with all relevant jury duty laws in Wyoming. This letter will tell your employer why they have to give you time off. You will only need to add some details about your summons, and DoNotPay will do the rest.
Register on our platform and follow these steps:
- Access the Request Jury Duty Leave feature
- Provide the required information
- Upload a picture of your jury summons
DoNotPay can also send the letter on your behalf, but if you don’t want that, you can download it as a PDF and send it yourself.
We can also help you:
- Draw up child travel consent forms
- Discover and apply for scholarships
- Find unclaimed funds under your name
- File for violent crime compensation
- Redeem your used gift cards for money
- Protect your work against copyright violations
- Join clinical trials
- Apply for tourist visas
- Draft and submit financial aid appeal letters
As a consumer, you may be overwhelmed with endless steps and piles of paperwork you need to go through to get what you’re owed. This is where DoNotPay comes in—let us be your assistant and fast-track the following:
- Handling a late delivery or a missing product
- Submitting warranty claims
- Contacting customer service
- Filing insurance claims
- Filing complaints
- Taking companies to small claims court
- Returning an unsatisfactory or defective item
- Requesting compensation from airlines when a flight is canceled or delayed
Have you forgotten about a free trial you signed up for? Avoid being charged by using our app! With DoNotPay’s virtual credit card, you’ll get unsubscribed automatically without the company taking any money from you.