How Much Does a Divorce Cost in NC? Find Out Now!
Ending a marriage is a difficult endeavor in many ways. Before filing for divorce in North Carolina, you should get familiar with the whole process. Luckily, you don’t have to dig through different legal websites to get the information you need.
In 2020, the average cost of divorce in North Carolina was $13,100 for cases with no children involved. The average cost for marriages with children was $19,700.
Having kids is not the only factor that affects the divorce cost. How much you’ll have to pay depends on many other aspects, such as the divorce type, attorneys, and methods.
The cost of a divorce consists of many smaller fees. Check out the following table for an explanation:
|Attorneys||$100–$300 per hour|
|Divorce paper-filing fees||$225|
|Serving divorce papers||$7—via mail
$30—for a sheriff to serve them
|Changing maiden name||$10|
Another important cost-inducing factor is any dispute you might have with your spouse. Couples usually have trouble negotiating the following issues:
The more contested disputes you have, the longer it’ll take to get divorced and the more it’ll cost. Take a look at the average costs of divorces in North Carolina under some of the most common situations:
- No contested issues (with lawyers): $3,500–$4,200
- One dispute but without trial: $5,100–$6,200
- Two or more disputes but no trial: $8,800–$10,600
- Going to trial: up to $14,500
The best way to get a divorce if you have no money is to choose the cheapest marriage dissolution method. In the table below, you can find all the information you need about each method:
If you want to save up some money, you should try the DIY option. To file for an uncontested divorce, you and your spouse must not have any unresolved disputes. You have to agree on important issues regarding your property and children (if you have any) and make a divorce settlement agreement.
If you’re terminating your marriage on amicable terms, you don’t need to hire lawyers. The process is not complicated, but you should be familiar with the state laws and requirements. Here’s a step-by-step guide to filing for an uncontested divorce in North Carolina:
- Check whether you qualify—You are eligible for an uncontested divorce in NC if you or your spouse has been a resident of the state for at least six months before petitioning. You also have to agree on the following major issues:
- Prepare the paperwork—Uncontested papers you need to start the process include:
- Complaint for Absolute Divorce
- Domestic Civil Action Cover Sheet (Form AOC-CV-750)
- Civil Summons (Form AOC-CV-100)
- Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Affidavit (Form AOC-G-250)
- File the forms—File the necessary forms with the court at your local clerk’s office
- Serve your spouse—You can serve divorce papers to your spouse by having a sheriff or someone older than 18 deliver them. You can also send them via certified mail
- Make a settlement agreement—Once you and your spouse reach an agreement on the most important matters, you should put the terms you agreed on in a divorce settlement agreement. Sign up for DoNotPay to get this binding document drafted within minutes
- Request a hearing—In North Carolina, there’s a 30-day waiting period. Once it passes, the court will schedule a hearing. Here are the documents you need to submit to finalize your divorce:
- Judgment for Absolute Divorce
- Certificate for Absolute Divorce
- Divorce Settlement Agreement and Property Settlement Contract
- Parenting Plan (if you have children together)
A good divorce settlement agreement should comply with the state requirements and contain the information specific to your case. Wondering how to create such a document? With DoNotPay, it’s as easy as ABC!
Here’s everything you need to do:
- Open DoNotPay
- Choose the Divorce Settlement Agreement tool
- Answer our chatbot’s questions
- Notify us if you need a notary
With our custom-made divorce settlement agreement, you’ll be able to finalize your divorce in no time!
Is there anything else you might need help with? Visit our knowledge base to get answers to other divorce-related questions, such as:
- How can you file for divorce online?
- Can you get a divorce without going to court?
- How can you get a divorce without a lawyer?
- How long does a divorce take?
DoNotPay is a platform that puts its subscribers’ safety in the first place. We can keep you safe from sex offenders, stalking, and harassment. In case you’re a victim of a crime, we can help you get compensation.
The short answer is no, and the list of our AI-based app’s features keeps growing by the day. We offer professional assistance with issues that no other platform can help you with. Sign up now and:
- Put a stop to spam mail and robo texts
- Request chargebacks and refunds effortlessly
- Claim any missing money
- Reduce property taxes
- Generate power of attorney and divorce agreements
- Draw up various legal documents hassle-free
- Connect with your locked-up loved ones
- Get flawless passports photos
- Get a refund for a late delivery
- Prepare for any government tests
- File a perfect FOIA request