How to Apply for FMLA Parental Leave in Arkansas

Parental Leave Requests & Benefits How to Apply for FMLA Parental Leave in Arkansas

How to Apply for FMLA Parental Leave in Arkansas

FMLA enables employees to take parental leave for the right reasons. While some states have laws promoting FMLA, Arkansas has yet to enact one. As such, many employees become confused about their FMLA Arkansas rights.

Every employee would love to spend time with family when the need arises. But negotiating for FMLA leave with your employer is a long process. As such, many are at risk of forfeiting their FMLA benefits. If you don't know how to apply for FMLA, there's still hope. That's because DoNotPay is available to help. We can draft a leave request letter to your employer on your behalf.

Read on to learn how to request FMLA leave in Arkansas.

What is FMLA?

FMLA is short for The Family and Medical Leave Act. As a 1993 law, it enables employees to attend to pressing family and health needs without the risk of job loss.

FMLA law mandates employers to give employees 12 weeks of unpaid leave when necessary.

When is FMLA Leave Available For Employees in Arkansas?

Reasons to apply for FMLA leave include:

  1. Birth of a child
  2. Recover from a severe health condition
  3. A family member has serious health challenges
  4. Adoption of a child
  5. Care for a family member that incurs serious injuries during Military Service

Who is Eligible For FMLA Arkansas Program?

Do you know that not everyone can benefit from the FMLA program? Here are the requirements for employers:

  • Have at least 50 people as employees
  • Staff members served for at least 20 weeks in a year

Conditions for employees' eligibility for FMLA leave in Arkansas are:

  • Working for the employer for at least one year
  • Spent at least 1,250 hours at workplace in the previous year
  • Working in a company with at least 50 staff

Is There Paid Parental Leave in Arkansas?

Is paid parental leave an option in Arkansas? FMLA is unpaid leave, so you may not get vacation benefits from your employer. But you still have good options if your employer's job policy provides for employee leave benefits.

Can I Get Paid With FMLA in Arkansas?

As already mentioned, you don't get paid under the FMLA program. But employees can substitute other paid leave options like sick, or vacation leave for FMLA leave.

Available leave benefits must comply with your employer's leave policy. As such, DoNotPay will contact your employer to discover which paid leave benefits are available for you.

How Long is Maternity Leave in Arkansas?

Under FMLA, employees in Arkansas can request 12 weeks of maternity leave. But you must notify your employer beforehand.

How Much Leave is Available For Employees in Arkansas?

If Arkansas employees meet the requirements above, they can take twelve weeks of leave in twelve months. But there's more for people attending to injured service officers.

You can get twenty-six weeks of leave in twelve months to care for an injured military officer. If the conditions are favorable, you can renew this leave after twelve months.

How is FMLA Different From Sick Leave?

FMLA is a mandatory leave given to employees dealing with severe health conditions or family issues. During FMLA leave, your job is secure, and you still receive full employment benefits. It's against the law for an employer to deny you FMLA when you meet the criteria.

Meanwhile, employees get sick leave when they request it based on their health issues. You should attach your medical certificate with your leave letter when applying for sick leave.

FMLA Arkansas: How to Apply on Your Own

If you think you need FMLA, it's essential to inform your employer on time. We recommend giving at least 30-days advance notice. Find out from your employer what FMLA forms and paperwork are available. It would be best to spend time reading the company's FMLA policy for yourself.

Now, let's see how you can apply for FMLA in Arkansas.

  1. Get the FMLA medical certification form from your physician to apply for FMLA. This form validates your personal or family member's health condition. Fill and return the form within 15 days.
  2. Depending on your employer's leave policy, you should submit a leave request letter to your employer. If permitted for FMLA leave, submit the FMLA notification form within two days.

Procedures for taking FMLA leave can be challenging for people with pressing family issues. Depending on your schedule, you may not have time to go through the company leave policy or fill the forms. Instead of bearing the burden alone, allow DoNotPay to walk you through the application process.

What Are The Medical Conditions Covered By FMLA in Arkansas?

Under FMLA, severe health conditions include:

  • Chronic back pain
  • Cancer
  • Alzheimer's disease
  • Diabetes
  • Pregnancy or its complications
  • Excessive depression
  • Brain disorders
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Drug abuse therapy
  • Arthritis
  • Recovery from serious surgery
  • Emphysema
  • Pneumonia
  • Injuries

How Can DoNotPay Help You To Take FMLA Leave In Arkansas?

If you feel you need the FMLA benefits but don't know how to get them, DoNotPay is for you. When ready, follow these steps:

  1. Tell us which state you work in (if you work in CA, NY, NJ, MA, WA, or DC, your state has a paid family leave program).

     

  2. Choose whether you want us to apply to the program for you or contact your employer with your leave request. If you want to apply for the program, we will walk you through the questions on the form and mail the application form for you.

     

  3. If you want us to contact your employer, enter your leave details, including the starting date, number of weeks of leave, and how many weeks of paid leave you are requesting (for example, you may take a 12 week leave, but only request 8 weeks of paid leave to make the request reasonable).

     

  4. Indicate whether you are the birth parent or not (birth parents have a few additional legal protections).

     

  5. Enter the name of your company and the person to address this request to.

     

  6. Select whether you want us to email the request to your employer on your behalf.

     

After confirming your eligibility for FMLA leave, we will write a letter to your employer on your behalf. Be sure to take at least 12 weeks of unpaid leave in Arkansas.

Not in Arkansas?

Check your specific state to learn more about FMLA leave:

CaliforniaOhioOklahomaHawaiiSouth Dakota
CaliforniaNew YorkLouisianaNew JerseyNew Mexico
VermontMontanaDelawareAlaskaWyoming
TexasMassachusettsRhode IslandFlorida
PennsylvaniaIllinoisKentuckyOhio
MichiganTennesseeNew HampshireWisconsin
GeorgiaOregonMaineArizona
North CarolinaColoradoHawaiiIndiana
NevadaVirginiaIdahoMissouri
MarylandMinnesotaNebraskaUtah
AlabamaArkansasMississippiSouth Carolina

What Else Can DoNotPay Do?

DoNotPay can help you with all kinds of challenges:

  • Marriage certificates
  • Divorce certificates
  • Pay bills
  • Cancel timeshares

Contact us today to learn more about our other products and services.

Want your issue solved now?