Fired for Jury Duty—What Does the Law Say?

Request Jury Duty Leave Fired for Jury Duty—What Does the Law Say?

How To Avoid Being Fired for Jury Duty—Can DoNotPay Help?

When you receive a jury duty summons, it’s your obligation to show up at court and serve. This means that you’ll need to take time off work for however long the duty lasts.

If you don’t show up, you can face penalties, such as fees and imprisonment.

While the majority of all federal cases last only a day, some can drag out for months, and you can receive multiple calls in a short period. Your employer won’t be keen about you missing work for so long and may try to force you to ignore your civic duty.

The question is—is it legal to get fired for jury duty? In this article, we’ll show you:

  1. What rights and duties employers have when employees get called
  2. How you can use DoNotPay to procure a formal jury duty leave request letter in no time

Can You Be Fired for Jury Duty?

Jury duty is job-protected leave. This means that the law protects you from getting fired because of jury duty. If the employer chooses to terminate your contract or penalize you for carrying out your civic duty, they will face penalties and even imprisonment.

You can sue the employer if you get:

  • Demoted
  • Fired
  • Threatened
  • Salary reduction

What Punishments Await the Employer?

The punishment handed to employers differs based on the state. Check out the table below to find out what each state law says:

State Fine Imprisonment State Fine Imprisonment
Alabama $5,000 / Montana $5,000 /
Alaska Lost wages / Nebraska $500 /
Arizona $2,500 / Nevada $2,000 One year
Arkansas $2,500 / New Hampshire Lost wages /
California Lost wages / New Jersey $1,000 Six months
Colorado $1,000 One year New Mexico $500 Six months
Connecticut $500 30 days New York $1,000 30 days
Delaware $500 Six months North Carolina All damages /
District of Columbia $300 One month North Dakota $1,500 30 days
Florida Punitive damages / Ohio $250 30 days
Georgia All damages / Oklahoma $5,000 /
Hawaii $1,000 30 days Oregon $720 /
Idaho $300 / Pennsylvania All damages /
Illinois Lost wages / Rhode Island $1,000 One year
Indiana $1,000 180 days South Carolina One year’s salary /
Iowa Lost wages / South Dakota $500 30 days
Kansas All damages / Tennessee $2,500 One year
Kentucky $250 89 days Texas Five years’ salary /
Louisiana $1,000 / Utah $500 Six months
Maine $1,000 Six months Vermont $200 /
Maryland $1,000 / Virginia $500 /
Massachusetts $5,000 / Washington $1,000 Three months
Michigan $7,500 93 days West Virginia $500 /
Minnesota $700 Six months Wisconsin $200 /
Mississippi $1,000 Two years Wyoming $1,000 /
Missouri Lost wages /

Some states may order additional liabilities for attorney fees and other damages—check your state laws to be sure.

What Happens With Your Salary During Jury Duty?

The federal court pays $50 per day to jurors, but it doesn’t enforce any rules on the employer regarding your salary. When it comes to state courts, the rules on pay and employee salaries differ based on state law.

Request Formal Leave for Jury Duty With DoNotPay

Jury duty is an important pillar of the U.S. judicial system. When you receive a summons, you will need to:

DoNotPay can help you get off work without any hassle or awkward conversations. Our app will draft a professional letter based on the information you provide and will notify your employer about your rights regarding jury duty.

All you need to do is:

  1. Sign up for DoNotPay
  2. Select the Request Jury Duty Leave tool
  3. Answer a few questions
  4. Upload a photo of your jury summons

Solved Your Issue? Check Out More of Our Product Range

DoNotPay’s forte is its versatility—you can use the app to resolve any problem of legal or bureaucratic nature!

As soon as you subscribe to our platform, you’ll be able to:

Our App Helps You Both Save and Earn Money

Want to get more familiar with our extensive product range? Check out how, for one low monthly fee, we can help you both save and earn money by:

Want your issue solved now?