All you need to know to pass a North Carolina Permit Test

Driving is no doubt a big part of American culture. It’s hard to find a young person that isn’t excited to get on the road. This guide will help you prepare for your upcoming DMV driver’s permit test. We’re going to walk you through the necessary preparations and paperwork, and then you can take our online practice test. Unlike other tests, ours is completely free and sourced from previous North Carolina driver’s tests. To pass a test in North Carolina, you need to score at least 78% or more. North Carolina also created a useful handbook you can use to study NC traffic laws.

What documents are required for a DMV permit test in North Carolina

Before you’re allowed to take the test, you must submit a set of documents that satisfies the following criteria:

If you’ve undergone a legal name change since the issuing of your birth certificate, you will have to present a document that states this (marriage certificate, for example).

Other than applying for learner’s permits, you must also provide one document proving liability insurance coverage, that has been issued a provider licensed to work in North Carolina.

Regular License vs REAL ID

We strongly recommend you apply for a REAL ID license. Although it won’t matter which one you use for driving, the latter will grant you some benefits the regular license can’t. To apply for a REAL ID, you will have to submit TWO documents verifying your physical address. Here’s an overview of the differences:

Can be used for identification

Additional symbol

Entering federal buildings

Boarding planes inside the U.S.

Regular license

Yes

/

No

No (as of Oct. 2020)

North Carolina REAL ID

Yes

ID Star

Yes

Yes

What documents do non-citizens need to bring

Apart from the documents mentioned before, non-U.S. citizens will have to provide proof of legal presence. Some examples would be:

  • A valid foreign passport, with an unexpired U.S. visa
  • I-94 Arrival/Departure record
  • Valid permanent residency card (green card)
  • Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561)

What documents do minors need to submit

The documents required to apply for minors are the same as adults, there’s no additional paperwork asking for consent from parents/guardians. In North Carolina, teens as early as 14 ½ may apply for a certified driver’s education courseOnce completed, they will receive a Driving Eligibility Certificate, as long as they are:

  1. Between 15 and 17 years old
  2. Currently attending school
  3. Actively working towards their diploma or GED

The Driving Eligibility Certificate can be used to apply for what’s known as a Graduated Licensing Program. Teen drivers without a provisional license may only operate the vehicle while actively supervised by:

  • A parent
  • A grandparent
  • A legal guardian
  • Any adult legally recognized by the parent and legal guardian

The person supervising the teen driver must:

  1. Be a licensed driver
  2. Have a license for at least five years
  3. Be in the car while the minor is driving

There are 3 levels of licenses a teen can obtain:

Limited learner permit

  • Ages 15 to 17
  • Have a Driving Eligibility Certificate
  • Can only drive between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. under legal supervision
  • Can’t use mobile devices in any way while driving
  • Can only operate a type C vehicle

Limited provisional license

  • Ages 16 to 17 years old
  • Can drive unsupervised only between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • Must have a limited learner permit at least 12 months
  • Has at least 60 hours of driving logged by the supervisor and approved by the DMV
  • Had no moving violations in the last six months
  • Pass an additional on-the-road driving test
  • Can not drive more than one passenger under 21 when unsupervised, unless members of the same household
  • Can’t use hands-free mobile devices when driving

Full provisional license

  • Ages 16 to 17 years old
  • Can drive completely unsupervised
  • Has a limited provisional license for at least six months
  • Had no moving violations in the last 6 months
  • Completed at least 12 hours of driving, 6 of which at night, logged by the supervisor and approved by the DMV
  • Is not allowed to use hands-free mobile devices

If you want to practice, take our free, 50-question example test

DoNotPay also helps you ACE your written exam

DoNotPay can also help you study for your written exam with a free practice test. Drivers that do well on our practice tests are guaranteed to do well on the written exam. If you have an upcoming practice test, make sure you pass by using our free DMV practice test.

What else can DoNotPay do for you?

Apart from setting up a DMV appointment in any state faster, DoNotPay can:

  1. Contest traffic infractions
  2. Challenge speeding tickets
  3. Beat parking tickets in any state and city
  4. Issue virtual payment cards for safe free trials
  5. Cancel unwanted subscriptions and services
  6. Help file for flight delay compensation
  7. Sue companies and individuals in small claims court
  8. Wait in customer care phone lines for you

Find more useful information at the DoNotPay learning center.