Navigate the Great Lake of Divorce in Michigan With DoNotPay
Divorce is never easy, but an uncontested process can at least result in you and your spouse being able to move on quickly and without too much pain.
DoNotPay explains how to file for and finalize an uncontested divorce in Michigan—get all the info you need here!
Michigan is one of the states that allows for a no-fault divorce, meaning there is no need for one party to accept blame for the breakup of the marriage.
If you are lucky, you and your spouse will agree on:
- Whether you should divorce
- What should happen to your joint assets and liabilities
- Who should look after any children from the marriage
If there is general agreement on these points, Michigan divorce law is relatively easy to navigate. The only requirement for a divorce in Michigan is that you or your spouse must have lived in the state for the six months leading up to the beginning of the divorce process.
The no-fault divorce law in Michigan means that you can:
A judge will only get involved if you or your spouse contest the case or if you can’t agree on a settlement.
If there is no contest or argument about the settlement, your divorce could be granted within 60 days from initiation or six months if children are involved.
The process of obtaining a divorce in Michigan is as follows:
|File a complaint of divorce||You or your spouse need to file a complaint of divorce with the clerk of your local county court. It must include:
|Serve the petition||The complainant should have the divorce papers delivered in person to the respondent, and the respondent must sign that they have received them|
|Draw up a settlement agreement||A settlement agreement sets out how your joint finances and responsibilities should be divided after the divorce. Your spouse has 21 days to respond to the complaint—if they don’t respond, a default judgment will be granted. This means that the contents of the settlement agreement will be accepted and made legally binding|
If you and your spouse agree on all the terms of the divorce, your spouse can sign the necessary paperwork for a consent divorce.
You, as the plaintiff, will have to appear before the judge to confirm that your marriage has broken down irretrievably, after which the judge will grant the divorce under the terms of your settlement agreement. Apart from this one appearance, your uncontested divorce will remain out of court.
The cost of a divorce in Michigan will vary depending on whether or not your case is contested.
The basic fee for filing a complaint of divorce is:
- $175 if no children are involved
- $255 if there are minor children in the marriage
You must pay the fee when you file your complaint of divorce at the county court.
If your spouse contests the divorce, you will need a lawyer, and your costs will rise rapidly. If the divorce is uncontested, you can get away with relatively low costs, particularly if you are prepared to compile much of the paperwork yourselves.
The most complicated—and potentially expensive—element of your divorce papers is your divorce settlement agreement.
You can get your agreement drawn up in several ways:
- County court
A lawyer can draw up your divorce settlement agreement but will charge by the hour. This can become expensive in no time and may not be necessary if you and your spouse have already agreed on a friendly divorce.
Your local court may be able to provide you with templates to fill out. These forms can be complicated, though, and you may find they require a lawyer to fill them out correctly.
You can find online divorce settlement agreements on several websites, but you should exercise caution. Many of these templates are generic and may not be valid in your jurisdiction or might miss out on important details you need to have included in your agreement.
None of these options is optimal, but DoNotPay has the solution. We can help you generate a divorce settlement agreement online that exactly suits your needs!
DoNotPay understands that you want your divorce to be as painless and inexpensive as possible. If you choose the uncontested divorce, we can simplify the process for you.
Our Divorce Settlement Agreement product ticks all the boxes—it is tailor-made to your wishes and ready in an instant at no extra cost!
Here’s how to set your settlement agreement up:
- Sign up with DoNotPay in your web browser
- Click on our Divorce Settlement Agreement product
- Fill in the details you want to be included
Once we have captured all the points you want in your agreement, we will generate your document in an instant.
You and your spouse can sign it in the presence of a notary, and your divorce can proceed. If you don’t fancy searching for a notary in your area, we can even organize an online notary appointment for you in seconds!
We have specific information on divorce in the following counties:
We can also help with specialized tips on:
- Michigan divorce costs
- Divorce mediation in Michigan and other states
- Michigan divorce checklists
- Alimony in Michigan
- Michigan divorce forms
Are you stuck in the never-ending subscription cancellation procedures? Do you want to demand a refund once you finally reach a customer support rep? Is the company refusing to cooperate? No need for stress—your personal assistant can lend a helping hand.
Is there anything else we can help you with? You bet! Once you sign up, we can resolve a number of issues in your stead. Count on our app if you’re struggling with:
- Snail mail
- Warranty claims
- Noisy neighbors
- Insurance claims
- Clinical trial applications
- Government test preparations
- College application fee waivers
- Late, wrong, or missing deliveries
Have you been experiencing workplace discrimination lately? Do you have a real-life stalker or harasser that you’re too scared to confront? Do you want to get rid of robocalls and text and email spammers once and for all? You’re not alone—DoNotPay is by your side and will help you deal with all of these issues.
As soon as you subscribe to our app, you’ll be able to use our products to your advantage and fight for your right worry-free!