Getting a Divorce in Michigan? The Cost Doesn’t Have To Scare You
One of the biggest worries most people have when terminating their marriage is the potential cost of the process. The final amount you have to pay to get divorced depends on multiple factors, such as your state laws, the type of divorce you opt for, and how friendly you are with your spouse.
If you or your spouse decide to file for divorce in Michigan, you will have to prepare at least $5,000 and might have to pay up to $50,000. If you opt for an uncontested divorce (known as a low-cost divorce), you’ll pay significantly less—typically between $1,200 and $1.500. Deciding on this type of divorce means you won’t have to pay for expensive lawyers to represent you in court. If you opt for a contested divorce (that involves letting a judge decide on specific aspects of your divorce), the lawyer fees will pile up as you attend multiple lengthy court proceedings.
Getting an uncontested divorce in Michigan implies you and your spouse agree on key divorce issues, such as:
If you’re having trouble reaching common grounds with your spouse, you should try divorce mediation. Opting for divorce mediation in Michigan will help you and your partner reach a mutually acceptable agreement while remaining on good terms and avoid spending money on a lawyer.
Once you and your spouse settle the terms of your divorce, you should outline your understanding in a marital settlement agreement.
Before filing for an uncontested divorce in Michigan, you and your spouse must meet the following residency requirements:
- At least one of you must have lived in the state for a minimum of 180 days before starting the procedure
- You or your partner must have resided in the county where the papers were filed for at least 10 days
|Filing the necessary paperwork||
|Serving your spouse||
|Attending the final hearing||
A divorce settlement agreement is crucial in any divorce proceedings. Hiring a pricey lawyer to write one for you or using an unreliable online divorce service are not your only options. Nowadays, you can lean on DoNotPay and get a divorce settlement agreement in a few easy steps without breaking the bank! To get the desired document, subscribe to DoNotPay and:
- Select the Divorce Settlement Agreement tool
- Provide us with details about your:
- Children (if any)
- Opt for online notarization
Once you submit your request, you will receive a personalized divorce settlement agreement in no time. If you want to have it notarized, schedule an appointment with an online notary by following the link we’ll send you via email.
Need more help with divorces? Check out the articles DoNotPay has prepared for you:
- Do you have to file for divorce in the county you live in?
- How long does an uncontested divorce take?
- Does it matter who files for divorce first?
- How do you get divorced without losing everything?
- How do you get a divorce when you've been cheated on by your wife?
- What to ask for in divorce mediation?
- Can you file for divorce if you still live together?
- What to expect after ending a one-year marriage?
Discover the Entire Spectrum of Our Features
A click or two will be enough to discover the amazing universe of DoNotPay’s tools and products. Our app is here to show you the best way to get:
- Virtual credit cards
- Late, lost, or faulty delivery refunds
- Copyright protection
- Personalized legal documents
- Fully customized complaint letters to send to your annoying neighbors
- Gift card cash back in any U.S. state
- Tourist visas
- College fee waivers
- Passport photos
- Sweepstake entries
- Burner phone numbers for a secure phone verification
DoNotPay can track down your unclaimed money, submit insurance claims, or request compensation for delayed flights on your behalf. This way, you can save some money and get what you’re owed. Our app can also make it easier for you to lower your utility bills, cancel active subscriptions and stop further charges, or appeal parking tickets.