DoNotPay Helps You Get a Divorce in Colorado
Getting a divorce can be emotionally draining and exhausting, especially if you don’t know all the laws and info. It’s easy to get lost in the complicated paperwork and the filing process. That’s why DoNotPay provides a guide for you!
We’ll show you everything you need to know about getting a divorce in Colorado and prepare you for the process in no time. You will also find out how to create a divorce settlement agreement in a few clicks!
Before taking any action, you should familiarize yourself with the divorce laws in Colorado, as well as some general rules. In this state:
- You don’t need grounds for a divorce—Colorado is a no-fault state. This means that couples aren’t required to have any grounds for getting a divorce. To file for it, one party can claim that the marriage is irretrievably broken
- Divorces are not 50/50—Colorado is not a community property or 50/50 but an equitable distribution state. The property will be divided by the court in a way that’s fair to both parties but not necessarily equal
- You can get an uncontended divorce—If the couple meets certain requirements, they can file for an uncontested divorce. These types of divorces are also called friendly divorces and are generally:
- You don’t have to visit the court to get divorced—A couple can reach an out-of-court settlement if they agree on everything. If not, the judge will order them to go to mediation
- You cannot get an online divorce—While you can fill out the forms and prepare documents online, you cannot complete the divorce process online in Colorado
Filing for an uncontested divorce is also called decree upon affidavit. This means that the couple can get divorced after submitting an affidavit instead of showing up in court for a hearing. You also won’t have to hire a lawyer if you agree on everything.
To get a dissolution of marriage in Colorado, the couple needs to meet the following requirements:
- At least one party needs to have been a resident of Colorado for a minimum of 91 days before filing for divorce
- The State of Colorado has to have personal jurisdiction over the respondent spouse
- Your children—if you have any—must have lived in Colorado for at least 181 days
- You need to wait 91 days once you have served divorce papers to your spouse
To get an uncontested divorce in Colorado and submit an affidavit instead of going to court, you and your spouse must:
- Not have any marital property, or sign a divorce settlement agreement that addresses property and debt division
- Agree that the marriage is irretrievably broken
- Include the following in the divorce settlement agreement if you have any children:
- Child custody
- Parenting time
- Child support
- Affidavit for Decree Without Appearance of Parties—You can find this form in the district court in your county or on your state’s government website. Ask the district court clerk for the affidavit and then file it yourself or with your spouse as co-petitioners
- Divorce settlement agreement—To get this agreement, you will have to either:
- Create one yourself
- Spend big bucks on a lawyer to do it for you
- Use DoNotPay and get an agreement in a few clicks
Once you sign the affidavit with your spouse as co-petitioners, you don’t have to serve the papers. In case you file the affidavit yourself, you will need to hire the county sheriff to serve your spouse or ask the other party to sign a waiver of service.
After receiving your papers, the judge will decide whether you will be granted divorce immediately or whether you’ll be required to attend a hearing.
A judge might check if the spouses meet all of the requirements and make sure the divorce separation agreement is fair to both sides. This is why getting a professional agreement is important.
When the judge determines that both parties meet all the requirements and they’re satisfied with the agreement, he or she will issue a decree of dissolution of marriage. The divorce will be officially completed when the dissolution is signed.
Want to lower the costs of your divorce in Colorado? Don’t hire expensive lawyers to create a divorce settlement agreement for you—use DoNotPay instead! We can create this document for you in no time. Here’s what you need to do:
- Subscribe to DoNotPay
- Select our Divorce Settlement Agreement feature
- Provide the necessary information about your spouse, income, assets, and children (if any)
- Opt for notarization
Once you submit your request, we’ll generate an agreement that will suit your needs perfectly. DoNotPay can then set up an appointment with an online notary in your stead. This means that you can have your document notarized from the comfort of your home.
Need more help? Check out our county-specific divorce articles and other guides DoNotPay has prepared for you in the table below:
Tired of brainstorming the easiest way to deal with administrative issues? We know how you feel, and we’re here to take the burden off your back!
Once you subscribe to our app, you’ll be able to resolve an abundance of bureaucratic issues with ease.
Taking a valid passport photo, reporting workplace discrimination, reducing property taxes, preparing for a government test, applying for a college fee waiver, and appealing a parking ticket are some of the many tasks we assist you with.
Are you dissatisfied with a certain company and/or its products? You don’t have to stay quiet! Use DoNotPay to file your insurance, warranty, or missing/late parcel claim effortlessly! We’ll also show you how to request an item return in a few steps.