Divorce Certificates From Nebraska, Without the Stress
Are you in a hurry to get copies of your divorce certificate from Nebraska? There's the easy way, and then there's the standard method of going through the state records department yourself. Either way, you'll need to make sure you have all the information required by the State of Nebraska, spelled correctly and with the right dates.
This guide will explain why acquiring your divorce certificate in Nebraska may be so difficult, why attempting to fix the matter on your own won't work, and how DoNotPay can make the process simple.
Why Do I Need an Official Copy of My Nebraska Divorce Certificate?
If you're divorced, it's important to make sure you have at least a few copies of your official divorce certificate, as they're necessary for many purposes. Here are the most common:
- To settle personal estates
- To remove ex-spouses from benefits and wills
- To legally change your name with banks, your job, and your insurance and pension policies
We recommend filing a copy with your deeds, wills, and titles, preferably in a safe deposit box. You can keep other copies in a protected location at home or your office for immediate need as necessary.
Who Can Get a Divorce Certificate Copy in Nebraska?
You can only get certified copies of your divorce certificate if you are one of the persons (spouses) on record, or you can prove you are a child of one or both of the persons on record.
What Documents Do I Need to Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in Nebraska?
The State of Nebraska is very specific about the records and information required to qualify for a divorce certificate, so it's important you have the correct documentation. Note, divorce records may not be issued for the purpose of genealogical research.
There is a downloadable application on which you can fill out the following information.
If you are one of the persons on record:
- Full names of both spouses on the divorce record
- The city or county where the divorce was originally granted
- The month, day, and year of the divorce finalization
- Your reason for requesting the divorce certificate
- If a third party is ordering, they must provide a reason for needing the certificate
- A clear photocopy of the applicant's government-issued photo ID
If you are obtaining your parents' Nebraska divorce certificate:
In addition to the above, you will need a certified copy of your own birth certificate to prove your relationship to one or both of the persons on the Nebraska divorce certificate.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Divorce Certificate Copy From Nebraska?
Each certified copy is $16.00. The first copy is non-refundable should no search turn up, which is why it's important to have the most accurate information possible.
|City/County/State Office||Contact Address and Phone Number||Divorce Certificate Processing Fee|
|Nebraska Vital Records||Nebraska Vital Records
P.O. Box 95065
Lincoln, NE 68509-5065
Phone: (402) 471-2871
|Cost of Copy: $16.00|
How Long Does It Take To Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in Nebraska?
- Walk-in service requires a minimum of 30 minutes for the clerk to search for the certificate.
- Mail-in service requires a minimum of 15 days to process, not including delivery.
There is an expedited service available for an additional $16.00 per certificate copy, reducing the time to up to two days' in-office turnaround. You must also provide a prepaid envelope for your choice of carrier; if not provided, the certificates will be sent by USPS First Class Mail.
How to Order a Nebraska Divorce Certificate on Your Own
Are you ready to send in your application? Do you have everything you need? You might wish to review this document outlining the legal descriptions for qualifying and applying for the certificate—just in case—before finalizing your application as requirements may have changed.
If you plan to order your Nebraska divorce certificate in person, bring a personal check or money order, the application and documents required above to Vital Records Nebraska State Office Building, 301 Centennial Mall South (First Floor), Lincoln, NE 68509. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Ordering by mail:
Once you have selected your method of delivery, mail your payment, a self-addressed, stamped or prepaid envelope (USPS Priority Mail, UPS, or FedEx are acceptable) your application, your reason for applying, a clear copy of your photo ID, and (if required) a certified copy of your birth certificate to Vital Records, P.O. Box 95065, Lincoln, NE 68509-5065.
We recommend using a paperclip when organizing your records, for ease of processing.
Ordering by phone or online:
The State of Nebraska Vital Records does not accept phone-in orders, nor does it offer online ordering services. However, you can quickly order your Nebraska divorce certificate through DoNotPay.
Order Your Nebraska Divorce Certificate Copies Now With DoNotPay
Are you sure you have the right documents, dates, locations, and names? Is everything spelled correctly, with the proper suffixes? Wouldn't it be great to have a virtual assistant who can help you do everything accurately and quickly from the comfort of your own home? That's what DoNotPay does!
How to Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate Using DoNotPay:
If you want to get a copy of a divorce certificate in Nebraska but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 7 easy steps:
- Go to the Certificates of Divorce product on DoNotPay.
- Select whether the certificate belongs to you or a relative/loved one. If it belongs to someone else, enter the details of both people on the certificate, and select/upload evidence that proves your relationship with them. If the certificate is yours, enter the details of your spouse.*Please note: some states only allow people named on the certificate to apply.
- Enter the city, state, and county where the divorce certificate and original divorce certificate were issued as well as the dates they were issued on.
- Indicate what you will be using this certificate for, and choose whether you need an authorized or certified copy.
- Enter your contact information and shipping address. Upload copies of your government-issued identification, such as a driver's license.
- Choose whether you would like to electronically sign this form or not. Once we generate the form, verify that all of the information is correct.
- If you need the document to be notarized, schedule a notarization appointment using our Notary product. Otherwise, proceed to our Mail Checks product and let DoNotPay mail in your request form with a check on your behalf.
Here's Why DoNotPay Is the Best Bet for Getting Your Nebraska Divorce Certificate!
When you think about it, ordering your vital documents through DoNotPay is a no-brainer. Here are just three of the reasons you should trust us to get it right!
- We're fast! No trips outside your front door... you'll be done in just a few minutes!
- It's easy! You can even order your birth certificate copy through us, if it's required!
- Security is our priority! There's no need to send highly-sensitive information through the mail. We'll take care of it and protect you from identity theft!
Can DoNotPay help me order my divorce certificates from other states?
Absolutely! We can order on your behalf from all 50 states. These are the most common requests we get:
- Divorce certificates from Texas
- Divorce certificates from Arkansas
- Divorce certificates from Nevada
- Divorce certificates from California
- Divorce certificates from New York
- Divorce certificates from Florida
What Else Does DoNotPay Do?
We're a company that advocates on behalf of the average citizen for legal and consumer issues. Here are some of our most popular services:
- Make and dispute credit card payments
- Find out if you're owed "missing money"
- File insurance claims
- Get documents notarized online, instantly
- File a restraining order for stalking and harassment
Now That You Know How DoNotPay Can Help...
Are you ready to let us get your divorce certificate from Nebraska? Or do you want to take care of other business you've been putting off? Let's get it done today!