Get a Divorce Certificate in Montana in No Time

Divorce Certificates Get a Divorce Certificate in Montana in No Time

How to Get a Montana Divorce Certificate

The State of Montana offers three forms of divorce documentation -- divorce record, divorce decree, and divorce certificate. Knowing the difference can save both time and money. Unlike states such as Nevada, New York, California, and Florida, Montana recognizes common-law marriages as "real" marriages and requires a formal divorce proceeding to terminate the relationship. So, how do you get a ?

Continue reading to learn how to obtain a copy of your divorce certificate — and how DoNotPay can make the process completely painless.

What Are the Different Divorce Documents in Montana?

Montana maintains divorce records that include all documents related to the divorce proceedings. These documents can include motions, evaluations, court orders, and a final judgment. Although divorces are considered part of the public record, the full case files are not available for a public online search. Since many divorce proceedings include the names of minor children, financial data, and criminal records, divorce records are harder to obtain than other public records.

What Is a Montana Divorce Certificate?

A verifies the dissolution of a marriage. It provides the least information regarding the proceedings. A certificate usually includes the names of the divorcing parties, the time and location of the divorce. This information is considered part of the public record.

What Is a Montana Divorce Decree?

A divorce decree is the legal dissolution of a marriage in Montana. Copies are given to the divorcing parties and their legal representatives. A decree provides more information on the divorce settlement, such as:

  • Division of property and assets
  • Spousal and child support payments and schedule
  • Visitation plans and parenting plan

A divorce decree is filed with the Clerk of Court in the country where the decree is issued.

What Is a Montana Divorce Record?

A divorce record includes all information available in a decree or certificate. It also includes all paperwork filed with the court during the divorce proceedings. Divorcing parties may request that parts of the proceedings be sealed.

What Is Required to Request a Montana Divorce Certificate?

The Office of Vital Statistics under the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services has an index of all finalized divorce decrees since July 1943. The state office does not have the authority to provide written documentation regarding the divorce proceedings. It can only verify that the marriage was legally dissolved.

Contact Clerk of the District Court

Like Texas and Nevada, requests for divorce certificates must be made to the Clerk of the District Court in which the divorce decree was issued. There is no state-wide process for receiving a divorce certificate. As a result, you will need to contact the District Court for detailed information on what is required to receive a divorce certificate.

Divorce Certificate Fee

The typical cost for a divorce certificate is between $10.00 and $12.00.  Some counties accept debit or credit cards, while others require a check.

City/County/State OfficeContact Address and Phone NumberDivorce Certificate Processing Fee
Office of Vital Statistics

MT Dept. of Public Health and Human Services

111 N Sanders, Rm. 6P.O. Box 4210

Helena, MT 59604

Cost of Copy: $10.00


The identification requirements are controlled at the county level, meaning you will need to contact the Clerk's office to determine what is required. Examples of acceptable identification include passport, driver’s license Montana real ID. In some instances, no identification is required.

How to Request a Montana Divorce Certificate Yourself

Before starting the process, take a deep breath and recognize this could take some time. 

  • Contact the Clerk of District Court - Contact information for the county your divorce was finalized can be found on its website if it has one. If no website is available, you can search the Montana state website for a list of counties and follow the links to locate a contact page.
  • Ask for a request form - Counties with websites may have a form you can download and complete; otherwise, you will have to contact the Clerk's office to request a form be sent to you.
  • Complete the request form - Completing the form may require that you provide different forms of identification to prove you are an authorized party. Again, you will need to contact the County Clerk if you have questions. In some cases, only notarized copies or originals will be accepted.
  • Mail the completed form - Once the form is completed and the identification requirements are met, you mail the information back to the County Clerk. To minimize delays, be sure to have the package tracked, so you know when it was delivered.
  • Wait ten days - The average wait time is ten days from receipt of a completed form. If you have not received the certificate by the end of the ten days, you should follow up with the county.

Getting a Divorce Certificate Using DoNotPay

If you want to get a copy of a Montana divorce certificate, but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 7 easy steps:

  1. Go to the Certificates of Divorce product on DoNotPay.
  2. Select whether the certificate belongs to you or a relative/loved one. If it belongs to someone else, enter the details of both people on the certificate and select/upload evidence that proves your relationship with them. If the certificate is yours, enter the details of your spouse.*Please note: some states only allow people named on the certificate to apply.
  3. Enter the city, state, and county where the divorce certificate and original divorce certificate were issued as well as the dates they were issued on.
  4. Indicate what you will be using this certificate for, and choose whether you need an authorized or certified copy.
  5. Enter your contact information and shipping address. Upload copies of your government-issued identification, such as a driver's license.
  6. Choose whether you would like to electronically sign this form or not. Once we generate the form, verify that all of the information is correct.
  7. If you need the document to be notarized, schedule a notarization appointment using our Notary product. Otherwise, proceed to our Mail Checks product and let DoNotPay mail-in your request form with a check on your behalf.

Why Use DoNotPay to Get a Montana Divorce Certificate?

Using DoNotPay reduces the "hassle" factor of getting a divorce certificate. With its 7-step process, you complete your part of the process in one session. DoNotPay's online process can:

  • Save Time. There's no hunting for contacting information or waiting for forms to arrive.
  • Minimize Frustration. Government offices have limited work hours and may be short-staffed. These restrictions can be frustrating as you wait for your request to be processed.
  • Reduce Stress. Eliminate the stress of going to the Post Office or calling FedEx. Avoid writing checks or having to go to the bank to have one made for you.

This service is also available in other states like California, Colorado, Alabama and Arkansas. The relief you feel from finishing the process in the comfort of your home is the best reason to use DoNotPay.

What More Can DoNotPay Do?

DoNotPay can help with the following:

Why not let DoNotPay help simplify your life?

Want your issue solved now?