How To Get a Divorce Certificate Copy in Minnesota

Looking for a Divorce Certificate in Minnesota? Here Is How to Get Your Copy

Divorce documents are vital for moving on with your life after the breakup. Many prefer a divorce certificate over a divorce decree because of its simplicity. The question is, where to begin when looking for a copy of a ? Unlike divorce decrees available in all states, selected states offer divorce certificates.

Whether you want to have your names changed, show that you are not married, apply for a visa, or get married, you'll need a divorce certificate. However, requiring a divorce certificate is different from getting one. Notwithstanding, after going through the most challenging moments of your life, we understand that getting a divorce certificate should be a simple process. Thus, we'll talk about how you can get a copy of your divorce certificate in Minnesota.

The Difference Between Divorce Certificates and Divorce Decrees

First, let's clear the air on how divorce certificates are different from divorce decrees. People tend to use them interchangeably, yet they are different and serve other purposes.


A divorce certificate is considered an official document that proves that you are divorced. On the other hand, a divorce decree is a final court document that contains vital information about your divorce process officially terminating your marriage.

Information Included

So, what does a divorce certificate look like? A divorce certificate contains basic information like the couple's names, date, and location of their divorce. In contrast, a divorce decree has the couple's details and division of their wealth, child custody and parenting time, details about the court, case number and any attorneys or judges involved, alimony, and many more details related to the divorce.

Issuing Entity

State Department of Health issues divorce certificates or vital records, typically places providing birth certificates. You can only receive a divorce decree from a court law authorized by a judge or your county’s court representative.

Am I Eligible to Apply for a Divorce Certificate Copy in Minnesota?

You can request a copy of a divorce certificate in Minnesota if you are:

  1. One of the divorcees.
  2. Parent(s) or legal guardian of any of the divorcees.
  3. Related to the divorcees, like a child or sibling.
  4. Government or law enforcement officers.
  5. Any person with a court order.

The Costs of Getting a Divorce Certificate Copy in Minnesota

Depending on how you placed your application, you will incur costs and want your certificate delivered to you.

  • On average, for every copy of the divorce certificate, you will pay $10 in the county's vital record office. The more duplicates you need, the more you pay, $10 for each extra copy.
  • If you ordered your copy using the mail, you will pay $10 and incur extra mailing charges.
  • When using an online service, the costs depend on the platform used. Some can charge higher processing fees in addition to the certificate's price. This means that by using DoNotPay, which is cost-effective, you will get efficient services at lower costs.

How Long Does It Take To Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in MN?

The delivery method you choose will affect the processing time of your divorce certificate in MN. You should expect a copy of the divorce certificate in your mail after two weeks. However, you might want to give the county's vital records office up to around eight weeks to deliver your certificate, partly because sometimes they have a lot of requests.

What Will I Need to Get a Divorce Certificate in Minnesota?

Divorce records in MN are public, meaning that those who would like to access them do not require any form of identification or reason to access them. However, to get a divorce certificate, you must present the following to the county's vital records office:

  • Names of the divorces on the document
  • The case number of the divorce
  • The date the divorce occurred
  • Place of the divorce
  • Any Identification documents, like passport, driver's license
  • Notarized affidavit from any of the divorcees.
  • Reasons you need the certificate.

How You Can Get a Divorce Certificate in MN on Your Own

Since MN is an open records state, anyone can access and get copies of the publicly available records, though some are deemed confidential if requested by the parties involved. However, marriage and divorce records are not stored by the state's vital records office, unlike birth or death records. You might now be wondering where in Minnesota I can get my divorce certificate copy?

City/County/State OfficeContact Address and Phone Number
Hennepin County Vital RecordsHennepin Co. Government Center

300 South Sixth Street, Suite A025

Minneapolis, MN 55487

Phone: 612-348-8919

Fax: 612-348-2010

Morrison County RecorderGovernment Center

213 S.E. 1st Ave

Little Falls, MN 56345

Phone: 320-632-0145

Fax: 320-632-0141

Nicollet County501 S. Minnesota Avenue

Saint Peter, MN 56082

Phone: 507-934-7800

Fax: 507-931-0856

Pennington Country RecorderCourthouse

101 Main Ave N

Thief River Falls, MN 56701

Phone: 218-683-7027

Fax: 218-683-7026

Swift County Treasurer301 14th Street North

Benson, MN 56215

Phone: 320-843-3544

Fax: 320-843-2275

Todd County Recorder215 1st Ave South Ste 203

Long Prairie, MN 56347

Phone: 320-732-4428

Fax: 320-732-4001

Divorce certificates in MN are available from the county where the divorce was finalized. Therefore, if you want to get a divorce certificate in Minnesota by yourself, you can get one by:

In-personYou can visit your county's vital records office to start your application. Even though public offices try to improve service delivery, using them is more disadvantageous than you think. This process is frustrating with the long queues and government forms waiting for you to fill. Let's not forget the expensive transport costs; only to find the offices out of service.
MailYou can also send your divorce certificate application to your county's vital records office. This approach is more complicated than it sounds. Document notarization and mail-checks are just a few of the complex and tedious processes you will have to endure. 

Instead of struggling through these frustrating methods of getting a divorce certificate in MN by yourself, let DoNotPay simplify it for you.

Using DoNotPay to Get a Copy of a Certified Divorce Certificate in Minnesota

With most services being offered online, struggling before getting legal copies of marriage and divorce certificates in MN is a thing of the past. Wouldn't you want to get your documents using a simple but efficient way?

You don't have to go through hell to get a copy of a . That is why DoNotPay is here to ensure you get a copy of your divorce certificate in Minnesota hassle-free with these seven easy steps.

  1. Go to the Certificates of Divorce product on DoNotPay.
  2. Select whether the certificate belongs to you or a relative/loved one. If it belongs to someone else, enter the details of both people on the certificate and select/upload evidence that proves your relationship with them. If the certificate is yours, enter the details of your spouse.*Please note: some states only allow people named on the certificate to apply.
  3. Enter the city, state, and county where the divorce certificate and original divorce certificate were issued as well as the dates they were issued on.
  4. Indicate what you will be using this certificate for, and choose whether you need an authorized or certified copy.
  5. Enter your contact information and shipping address—upload copies of your government-issued identification, such as a driver's license.
  6. Choose whether you would like to sign this form or not electronically. Once we generate the form, verify that all information is correct.
  7. If you need the document to be notarized, schedule a notarization appointment using our Notary product. Otherwise, proceed to our Mail Checks product and let DoNotPay mail in your request form with a check on your behalf.

Have you ever imagined getting a divorce certificate could be that simple? What's fascinating, you won't be left wondering, "when do I receive the certificate of divorce in MN"? DoNotPay notifies you immediately after processing your request.

We Work in Different States

Was your divorce registered in another state other than Minnesota? No worries, DoNotPay has you covered. For instance, are you unsure where to get the original divorce certificate in NYC or other states? DoNotPay has all your answers. You can receive a NY divorce certificate certified copy or have your divorce certificate in PDF.

Furthermore, whether you live in TexasArkansasNevadaFlorida, or California, you can use our efficient services to get a copy of a divorce certificate.

What Else Can We Do?

At DoNotPay, we understand how frustrating it gets when accessing vital services. You no longer have to worry about inconveniences if you want to:

For whatever challenges you might have, DoNotPay can help you solve them.

Want your issue solved now?