How To Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in Arkansas
A divorce certificate is an official document issued by the office that keeps track of vital records in your state. For example, in Arkansas, you can obtain a divorce certificate from the Arkansas Department of Health.
Unfortunately, it can take several days or even weeks to get your divorce certificate when you order with the Arkansas Department of Health.
The Difference Between Divorce Certificates and Divorce Decrees
While a divorce certificate and a divorce decree can prove a divorce, there are differences between the two.
A divorce certificate contains basic identifying information for both spouses and the date and place of the finalized divorce.
The purpose of a divorce certificate is to provide proof of a divorce. A divorce certificate is usually one-page. It can be used to:
- Apply for a name change on documents like a driver's license or passport.
- Provide proof of a divorce when needed (for example, to creditors).
- Apply for a marriage certificate.
On the other hand, a divorce decree is a court order that officially terminates the marriage. A divorce decree lays out the court's final orders regarding all the issues in a divorce. These issues include support, property division, and child custody. Both spouses are legally bound to the terms of a divorce decree.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Copy of a Divorce Certificate in Arkansas?
The cost of ordering a divorce certificate through the Arkansas Health Department is $10 per copy. If you request online through Vital Records, you'll be charged a $5 standard processing fee along with a $1.85 non- refundable identity verification fee. You'll also be charged for any expedited shipping options you choose. If no record is found, state law requires that they keep $10 for the search fee. The processing fee for online orders is also not refundable. However, you'll receive a refund of any amount apart from these fees.
To order a copy of a divorce certificate using an authorized online provider like VitalChek costs $10.00. Other sites that are not authorized can cost anywhere between $70 and $80.
Contact Address and Phone Number
Divorce Certificate Processing Fee
Arkansas Vital Records
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
First Copy: $10.00
Additional Copies: $10.00
How Long Does It Take To Get a Divorce Certificate in Arkansas?
If you order a divorce certificate online, it will take seven to fourteen business days to get your copy. Ordering a divorce certificate by mail takes ten to fourteen days to process, plus additional time for mail delivery.
How to Get a Copy of Your Divorce Certificate on Your Own
There are four ways you can order your divorce certificate from the state of Arkansas:
- You can request a copy online through Vital Records. You have to pay a service fee, certificate fee, and charges if you choose expedited shipping options.
- You can request by mail by filling out an application online or filling one out from your local health department. Then you can mail it to the Arkansas Department of Health along with a check or money order. You must also send a copy of an acceptable ID.
- You can also order a copy by phone. There are also multiple expedited shipping options available. Like the online option, you have to pay a service fee, certificate fee, and whichever expedited shipping option you choose.
- Walk-in. You can also order a copy of your divorce certificate by walking into the Arkansas Health Department in Little Rock. Most certificate requests can be fulfilled on the same day if you get there by 4 PM. However, if you arrive after 4 PM, your certificate won't be ready until the next day. This step can be a significant inconvenience for you if you don't live in Little Rock. Walk-in payment options include cash, credit or debit cards, and check or money order.
As you can see, the State of Arkansas provides a variety of ways to get a copy of your divorce certificate. However, there's a more accessible and more cost-effective way to get your copy.
Get a Copy of Your Divorce Certificate Instantly in Arkansas With DoNotPay
Requesting your divorce certificate from Arkansas can be a time-consuming task. First, you have to fill out the required forms, print, and sign them. Then mail it along with copies of your government-issued ID, along with a check or money order to the Vital Records office.
How to Get a Copy of Your Divorce Certificate Using DoNotPay
If you want to get a copy of a divorce certificate but don't know where to start, DoNotPay has you covered in 7 easy steps:
Go to the Certificates of Divorce product on DoNotPay.
Select whether the certificate belongs to you or a relative/loved one. If it belongs to someone else, enter the details of both people on the certificate, and select/upload evidence that proves your relationship with them. If the certificate is yours, enter the details of your spouse.*Please note: some states only allow people named on the certificate to apply.
Enter the city, state, and county where the divorce certificate and original divorce certificate were issued as well as the dates they were issued on.
Indicate what you will be using this certificate for, and choose whether you need an authorized or certified copy.
Enter your contact information and shipping address. Upload copies of your government-issued identification, such as a driver's license.
Choose whether you would like to electronically sign this form or not. Once we generate the form, verify that all of the information is correct.
If you need the document to be notarized, schedule a notarization appointment using our Notary product. Otherwise, proceed to our Mail Checks product and let DoNotPay mail-in your request form with a check on your behalf.
Why Use Donotpay to Get Your Divorce Certificate
If you need a copy of your divorce certificate, you should use DoNotPay because it 's:
- You don't have to spend hours filling out forms.
- You can request your divorce certificate straight from your laptop
- Once you provide us with all your information, we'll do the rest.
Getting your divorce certificate from DoNotPay is easy. First, we'll walk you through a few questions and verify your identity before generating a completed form. Then, once you confirm everything is correct, we'll mail it for you with a check to cover the application fee on your behalf.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
Helping you with getting a copy of your divorce certificate isn't the only thing DoNotPay can do. DoNotPay can also help you with the following:
- Divorce Settlement Agreements
- Insurance Claims
- Notarizing Documents
- Tips on Suing Someone in Small Claims Court