Find Out if You Qualify for Crime Victims Compensation in Oregon!
Physical injuries and psychological trauma aren’t the only challenges that violent crime victims and their loved ones face. Many victims or their dependents need to pay medical, funeral, and counseling costs, which usually represents a significant financial burden. Crime victims compensation in Oregon helps victims who suffered injuries due to a violent crime by covering their crime-related costs.
DoNotPay is here to help you apply for a Crime Victims Compensation Program in Oregon quickly and hassle-free.
Learn About the Crime Victims Compensation Program in Oregon
The State of Oregon created the Crime Victims Compensation (CVC) Program to help victims and their dependents deal with expenses caused by a violent crime. Some of the compensable violent crimes are:
- Domestic violence
- Sexual assault
- Child abuse
- Other crimes that result in a physical injury or psychological trauma
The funding for violent crime victims in Oregon comes from:
- Offender-paid assessments—the CVC Program in Oregon receives 8.5% of the assessments:
- $95—drunk driving
- $35—offenses punishable by a fine
- Exemplary damages in civil cases—the program gets 60% of the funds
- The annual Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant
If you have other benefits—including private insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, and similar—that could cover the expenses, you should use them before applying for crime victims compensation. The CVC Program in Oregon is considered a “last resort,” which means that it reimburses only those costs that other available sources can’t cover. The maximum compensable amount for crime victims in Oregon is $47,000.
Should you receive payment from any other source for the costs that the CVC Program already covered, you’ll need to repay the program.
The CVC Program benefits expire after some time:
- Adult victims can use the benefits for three years
- Child victims can use their claims until they are 21 or within three years of their claims being accepted, whichever comes first
- Immediate family members of homicide victims can use counseling benefits for five years
DoNotPay Helps You Apply for Crime Victims Compensation in Oregon in a Snap
If you’d like to apply for the CVC Program in Oregon but find the procedure too complex and time-consuming, DoNotPay has a solution for you. We strive to help violent crime victims and their loved ones handle financial difficulties as effortlessly as possible.
DoNotPay will ask you various questions regarding the crime you experienced and the crime-related expenses you incurred. We will then complete the application on your behalf and send it to the right office. With us, you can apply for crime victim compensation in a few clicks by following these steps:
- Pick our Compensation for Crime Victims product
- Indicate whether you’re the victim or another claimant
- Answer our questions
- Verify your signature
You can use DoNotPay to apply for crime victims compensation not only in Oregon but also in any other state, including:
Which Costs Does the Oregon Crime Victims Compensation Program Cover?
You can get crime victims compensation for the following crime-related expenses:
|Compensable Costs||Maximum Compensable Amount|
Medical examinations, treatments, and devices, such as eyeglasses and hearing aids
Mental health counseling
$10,000 for children who witnessed domestic violence
$1,000 for relatives of international terrorism victims
$500 for individuals who discovered a victim’s body
Lost wages or support
|$600 per week as long as it doesn’t exceed $20,000|
Travel for medical and counseling treatments if a victim has to travel over 60 miles and there are no closer service providers
|$0.30 per mile
Up to $3,000
The program doesn’t cover:
- Pain and suffering
- Property damage or loss
- Mental shock caused by property damage or loss
Are You Eligible To Apply for the Crime Victims Compensation Program in OR?
To be eligible for the CVC Program in Oregon, you have to:
- Have reported the incident to the police in the first 72 hours
- Apply for the program within one year of the crime
- Cooperate with the police (except in case of stalking, sexual abuse and assault, and domestic violence)
Your application will be denied if:
- The injury was a result of your own criminal conduct
- The crime involves only property loss or damage
- The injury was a result of an accident
If you’re a victim of domestic violence or sexual assault and you don’t meet all requirements, you could still be eligible for counseling expenses compensation.
Has Your OR Crime Victims Compensation Application Been Rejected? You Can File an Appeal!
As opposed to most states where crime victims compensation boards manage claims, the director or the assistant director of the CVC Program makes decisions regarding such claims in Oregon. If your claim gets rejected, you have 90 days to request reconsideration. The Oregon Department of Justice has 30 days to reconsider the original decision.
If their answer is still negative, you have 60 days to file an appeal with the Workers Compensation Board.
More Benefits of DoNotPay
DoNotPay is a useful tool for handling many otherwise annoying life's trifles, including:
- Setting up DMV appointments without a fuss and fighting unfair parking violations
- Getting refunds for canceled or delayed flights that disrupted your travel plans
- Reaching customer services without listening to the annoying elevator music yourself
- Signing up for free trials without revealing your real credit card info
- Verifying accounts with temporary phone numbers, shielding you from unsolicited spam texts and phishing emails
- Finding the highest-paid clinical trials in your area
What Else Can Our Award-Winning App Do for You?
If you think that's impressive, wait until you've heard about other features we boast!
Our legal services have been recognized by the esteemed ABA Brown award, serving as a testament to our abilities to assist you with your small claims issues, free trial auto-renewals, college fee waivers, public records, copyright protection, and much more!