The Ins and Outs of a Cheap Divorce in Arkansas
Divorce is a difficult time for any couple, and after adding all the expenses, the whole process becomes even more stressful. If you want to get a cheap divorce in Arkansas, you’re in the right place. We will explain all the details of Arkansas divorce laws and tell you how to have a low-cost divorce without hiring lawyers and attending court hearings.
Need help creating a divorce settlement agreement? Register for DoNotPay to draw up this document effortlessly!
There are two types of divorce in Arkansas—no-fault and fault-based. Check out what each of these types entails in the table below:
|Type of Divorce||Details|
|No-fault divorce||A no-fault divorce doesn’t require you to prove that your spouse did something wrong. In most cases, a no-fault divorce is based on irreconcilable differences.
To qualify for a no-fault divorce in Arkansas, you and your partner need to have lived separately for at least 18 months and to have separated voluntarily
|Fault-based divorce||If your spouse’s wrongdoings led to the breakup of the marriage, you can file for a fault-based divorce. The grounds for this type of divorce are as follows:
To get a divorce in Arkansas, at least one spouse must have lived in the state for 60 days prior to filing.
If you and your spouse are getting a no-fault divorce, you have two options to choose from:
- Contested divorce
- Uncontested divorce
If you and your partner can’t reach a compromise on the divorce terms, your divorce will be contested, and you’ll need to attend court hearings. In this type of process, the judge will have full control over your divorce.
Keep in mind that a contested divorce can drag on for months or even years, and it can burn a hole in your pocket, especially if you hire a lawyer to represent you.
An uncontested divorce is a much faster and simpler process because it requires you and your spouse to agree on all terms of your divorce before filing.
To file for an uncontested divorce, you need to create a divorce settlement agreement, also called a marital settlement agreement, which should cover the following:
- Distribution of assets
- Shared parenting plan
- Child support and visitation schedule
- Division of debts
By filing for an uncontested divorce, you can avoid costly lawyer fees and reach an out-of-court settlement.
Your Arkansas divorce could cost you over $8,000 if you involve lawyers. Here’s what you can expect to pay during the process:
- Filing fee—An average filing fee is around $165 (fees may be different for each county)
- Notary fees—Notary fees might cost you approximately $10
- Serving papers—The papers can be served by a process server or a sheriff, and you can expect to pay around $50 for this service
- Additional filing fees—Each time you submit additional motions or legal paperwork, you will pay additional filing fees
- Mediation—The cost of mediation will depend on the mediator’s hourly fee and the number of sessions you book
To have a cheap divorce in Arkansas, you can consider the following options:
- Pro bono or a volunteer lawyer— You’ll need to qualify for this type of assistance if you decide to apply. In order to check whether you qualify, you’ll need to answer a variety of questions regarding your financial situation
- Paralegals—Another option you can consider is hiring a paralegal. This is a more affordable solution for handling paperwork, but it can still be pricey for some people
- Online forms—You can find plenty of websites that offer free divorce forms. They are risky because they aren’t tailored to your particular case, and they can contain mistakes. You can also have a problem understanding the legal terminology, in which case you’d have to hire a lawyer anyway
- Do-it-yourself divorce—Representing yourself in a divorce is, by far, the most affordable option. You’ll need to talk to your partner without engaging lawyers or any third parties and reach a settlement. After you agree on all the terms of your divorce, you should create a divorce settlement agreement and sign it with your spouse
- Collect and fill out all the necessary court forms
- File the paperwork with the court
- Pay a filing fee (or request a fee waiver if you don’t have enough money)
- Serve the divorce papers
- Draft a divorce settlement agreement
DoNotPay is the cheapest way to draft a divorce settlement agreement in a few clicks. We will help you draw up a mistake-free document tailored to your needs specifically.
All you need to do is sign up for our platform and follow these instructions:
- Open our Divorce Settlement Agreement product
- Provide all the information our chatbot needs, such as:
- The date of your wedding
- Your spouse’s name, address, etc.
- The place where you got married
- Indicate how you want to allocate your financial assets
We will generate your personalized divorce settlement agreement automatically, and all you need to do is sign it with your partner. Once you sign it, you need to get the settlement agreement notarized. If you don’t want to spend hours on the internet looking for an Arkansas notary, DoNotPay will connect you with an online notary public quickly and hassle-free.
Looking for an app that’s got enough features to solve any issue you’re facing? Look no further—DoNotPay has got your back! Whether you can’t sleep from your noisy neighbors or you want to connect with your locked-up relatives, we’ll be able to help. We’ll bring justice to any person or company that has wronged you and take them to small claims court for you.
The robot-lawyer app can generate numerous legal documents in your name, including:
Once you receive the documents, we can set you up with an online notary so you can get your agreements notarized from the comfort of your home.
DoNotPay stands out not only by the quality of products it offers but by the sheer amount of features it boasts. Check the table below out to see only some issues we can help you resolve:
|Get Extra Money||Protect Your Privacy||Deal With Legal Issues|