All About Breaking A Lease In Utah
Breaking a lease in Utah usually requires your situation to fit into one of a limited number of categories. You have to make sure that the process is completed correctly the first time because you may have less time to plan your move than if you lived in another state. Here is an overview of how DoNotPay can make breaking a lease in Utah more convenient.
Tenant Rights and Responsibilities When Signing a Lease in Utah
As a renter in Utah, you have the right to break your lease in a limited number of justified circumstances. Still, you are usually responsible for holding up your end of your lease contract under circumstances that do not affect your safety.
Your right to live in a safe home gives you the option to leave when you need to if your landlord creates unsafe conditions or will not make repairs. Still, you are responsible for the day-to-day maintenance of keeping your space in reasonably good condition and for letting your landlord know if a major repair needs to be made.
When Breaking a Lease Is Justified in Utah
Utah residents generally have limited reasons for legally breaking a lease. You will typically only be guaranteed to break your lease if remaining in your rental is unsafe or military obligations require you to leave.
However, your lease may include an early termination clause, which may give you more options for legally breaking your lease. Some of the most common scenarios that are considered safety issues include:
- Harassment from your landlord
- Essential repairs that have gone unrepaired, such as water, heating, cooling, or lock-related issues
- Domestic violence
Although your landlord may allow you to break a lease under other circumstances, they typically do not have to.
Lease Termination Notice Requirement in Utah
Month-to-month renters need to provide notice that they plan to move out at least 15 days in advance in Utah. There are no specific requirements for giving notice if you have another type of lease, but it is still a good idea to inform your landlord of your plans as far in advance as possible to ensure that you leave on good terms.
Consequences of Illegally Breaking a Lease
Even if you have a valid reason to break your lease, it is important to ensure that you do so correctly to avoid potential financial penalties or problems renting in the future. Your landlord may be able to sue you for the remainder of your lease if you break it for a reason that is not considered legal in Utah, and this may also impact your credit score.
How to Break a Lease in Utah By Yourself
In Utah, you will need to provide your landlord with advance written notice of your intent to break your lease.
|Rent Payment||Notice Time||Statute|
|No end date||15 days||UCA §§ 78B-6-802|
|Month-to-month||15 days||UCA §§ 78B-6-802|
Costs you may incur could include the need to pay your final month's rent in full, even if you are not in your rental for the entire month. Your landlord may also require you to continue covering your rent until a new renter signs a new lease.
Next Steps for Breaking a Lease in Utah if You Can't Do It Yourself
Utah's 15-day notice for breaking your lease leaves very little room for error when it comes to doing so correctly the first time. If you are having trouble convincing your landlord that your reason for breaking your lease is legitimate or what your financial obligations should legally be, we are here to handle any necessary communication for you.
Once you provide us with a few basic pieces of information about the current terms of your lease and why you are looking to break it, we will consolidate these details into a clear document that informs your landlord of your intentions and what their next steps should be.
Break Your Lease With the Help of DoNotPay
Here's how you can get started with breaking your lease in Utah in 3 easy steps.
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed servicemember breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by your state's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but your state requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
Why Use DoNotPay to Break Your Lease in Utah
Breaking your lease correctly can be time-consuming, and many people who need to do so have plenty of other things to get done while preparing to move in a limited amount of time.
Although Utah's 15-day notice is better for tenants that must leave an unsafe situation than the 30-day notice that many other states impose, it also means that you will have half the time tenants in other parts of the country have to plan and execute a move if you choose to take advantage of the shortest possible notice. DoNotPay can help you prioritize your time by handling any necessary communication with your landlord on your behalf.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
DoNotPay's robot lawyer service is a quick and simple option for taking care of a wide range of issues from your device. We can assist you with nearly any problem you may experience as a tenant, as well as:
- Obtaining copies of essential documents
- Canceling subscriptions you no longer need
- Recovering old passwords or deleting accounts
- Avoiding unnecessary fees
At DoNotPay, we are here to take the stress out of one aspect of moving on short notice. Contact us today to get started!