All About Breaking A Lease In SC
Most tenants intend to stay in a new home until their lease expires. But changes happen. Maybe you're moving states, fleeing domestic violence, or joining the military.
Whichever the case, breaking a lease in SC means breaching your contract with the property owner. That could attract hefty fines.
However, many landlords take advantage of this situation to milk their tenants dry. As a result, some end up paying way more than they should for breaking their lease. Yet, this should not be the case.
As a tenant, you're only supposed to pay the amount agreed upon in your contract; this can still be negotiated. Requesting smaller fines on your own is highly unsuccessful.
Using DoNotPay's break my lease product, on the other hand, will minimize your expenses as much as possible.
When Can You Legally Break a Lease in South Carolina?
- Harassment from your landlord. South Carolina rental laws prohibit your landlord from removing your windows, changing your door locks, or closing your utilities. Such actions provide ground for vacating.
- Property fails to meet the standards of SC's safety and health codes. Failure by the landlord to offer habitable housing allows you to end your contract. The state defines a habitable house as safe and sticks to health and safety codes put in place.
- Joining the military. SC permits you to break your lease if you are part of uniformed services and have joined the military.
- Privacy violations. SC rental laws state that landlords must provide notice before entering your rented unit. The notice shouldn't be provided in less than 24 hrs either. Landlords can only enter your house if there's an emergency, you've abandoned the house, or you've allowed them to do so.
How Can You Break a Lease in SC by Yourself?
Some landlords may be willing to work with you after breaking the lease. Others will take the case to court.
The following table outlines how much notice a tenant needs to give their landlord when terminating a lease:
|Rent Payment||Notice Time||Statute|
|Week-to-week||7 days||§ 27-40-770(a)|
|Month-to-month||30 days||§ 27-40-770(b)|
Breaking a lease in South Carolina could cost you heavy financial damages. In such cases, breaking a lease may also hurt your credit score.
To protect yourself, you'll need to know how to break your lease in SC but with minor consequences. These steps will help.
- Check your contract for any early termination clauses: If there are any, you could end up paying only the fines and not the entire rent for subsequent months.
- Get a new renter: If your lease allows subletting, get a replacement renter who will stay in the property until your lease expires.
- Talk to your landlord: They may listen to you and let the transition go smoothly.
- Check for any loopholes: If you find that your landlord has breached your lease term, you can get out of the lease without fines.
Even with these steps, you may still have to pay heavy fines for breaking your lease. Maybe your landlord won't listen to you, or you'll fail to get a renter early enough.
Therefore, to avoid paying heavy fines for breaking your lease, use DoNotPay.
Depending on your situation, DoNotPay will file a protection letter, send a hardship letter, or negotiate with your landlord to ensure you pay just the required charges.
Breaking a Lease in SC Using DoNotPay
Here's how you can get started in three easy steps.
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed service member breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by South Carolina's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but SC requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
See how easy it is when you use DoNotPay?
Why Use DoNotPay to Break a Lease in SC
You may wish to stay in your SC apartment for the agreed-upon time on your lease. But circumstances can force you to vacate soon.
Moving out of an apartment before your lease expires should not be a ticket to exploitation. Whether your relocation is legally justified or not, you don't have to break the bank as a consequence.
DoNotPay will help you minimize expenses whenever you break a lease. We'll determine if you can skip extra charges and only pay the necessary amount.
Using DoNotPay to break your lease is crucial because it is:
- Fast: You don't need to spend weeks looking for a replacement tenant or negotiating with the landlord.
- Easy: Follow just three simple steps and let DoNotPay handle the rest.
- Successful: Pay way less than you would have for breaking the lease on your own.
Do you want to move out of your SC apartment but are scared of breaking your lease? Fear no more. Let DoNotPay handle everything for you. Sign up now to get started!