How to Break a Lease in New Jersey
Choosing to leave a rental property is a hard decision. New Jersey has some unique requirements before a tenant can legally be released from their obligations. How can you ?
DoNotPay can help craft legal letters to help get you out of your lease and ease your mind. Read on to find out how much DoNotPay can help you with.
Tenant Rights and Responsibilities When Signing a Lease in New Jersey
You have a legal responsibility to pay for the property, regardless of where you are from. The conditions of the lease regulate payments. They also specify the amount of advance notice needed to vacate the property. In addition to these, what else are the obligations of a New Jersey tenant?
- Renters should not be subjected to discrimination based on their ethnicity, religion, gender identity, age, or marital status.
- The right to a private, clean, and safe place to live in.
- Request property repairs on time. If the landlord fails to provide these repairs, tenant rights allow them to stop paying rent until the fixes are made.
- Keep the property's utilities and fixtures in good condition.
- For older adults, landlords cannot levy late penalties until five business days after the due date of the rent has passed.
- A security deposit should not exceed one and a half months' rent to protect the tenant.
- There is a 30-day grace period after the renter vacates the apartment in that landlords must refund their security deposit unless there are damages.
When Breaking a Lease Is Justified?
is a serious matter that should be addressed carefully. The landlord may be able to take legal action against you if you do this incorrectly. If you include some of the following facts, you may lawfully terminate the contract:
- Give documented, dated, and timely notification of an impending relocation owing to a new work opportunity.
- Changes in one's financial situation that make it impossible to keep a rented property in good standing with timely payments; they must be documented in writing with evidence and plenty of warning.
- Any significant interruption wherein the problems are severe, such as no heat, overflowing in the sewer, late-night noise difficulties, or bugs and rodents.
- When you buy a new house, you may not be able to break your lease because of this.
- Dissolution of marriage resulting in the division of assets and division of debt.
- New military assignment with written documentation.
- Landlord harassment or domestic violence.
- Health issues.
How to Break My Lease in New Jersey
New Jersey residents can break a lease legally by providing the reason, a letter of termination, and the correct amount of notice to the landlord. It's important to remember that breaking a lease might negatively affect your credit history. Here's an overview of the minimum amount of notice needed by landlords:
|Rent Payment||Notice Time||Statute|
|Weekly Lease||Seven days of notice||§§ 2A:18-56(c)|
|Monthly Lease||30 days of notice||§§ 2A:18-56(b)|
|Yearly Lease||90 days of notice||§§ 2A:18-56(a)|
How to Break Your Lease on Your Own
You may lawfully submit your notice by writing a letter, taking it to a notary, and delivering it to your landlord. Keep an additional copy in case a bad landlord takes it and "loses" it. A third alternative is to hire a lawyer to help you terminate your lease. Regardless of how you go about it, you'll have to take time off work, attend meetings, and pay legal expenses. Tenants may still have to pay the remainder of the term if they leave early. There has to be a better method that is quicker, safer, and simpler.
Break Your Lease With the Help of DoNotPay
There is, of course! You may rely on DoNotPay to write and deliver the legal letters for you.
Here's how you can get started in 3 easy steps:
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed service member breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by your state's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but your state requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
Why Use DoNotPay to Break Your Lease
You'll have extra time to look for a new place if you break your lease with DoNotPay. DoNotPay creates and mails lease termination letters quickly and easily, ensuring that you always have a copy on hand. As soon as the notice of termination is issued, we'll email you from DoNotPay.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
Your lease termination letter has been sent in compliance with New Jersey law, but how else can DoNotPay get the task fixed with a few mouse clicks? DoNotPay can help you with the following:
You may restore control of your financial situation with the help of DoNotPay.