Breaking A Lease In New Hampshire Without Any Expenses
Your rental lease is a legally binding contract between you and the landlord. If you plan to break your lease without justifiable and legal reasons, you may be concerned about lawsuits, fines, penalties, or negatively affecting your credit score. However, there may be legally valid reasons for breaking your lease. DoNotPay can help you understand your renters' rights and navigate the process of breaking a lease in New Hampshire.
What Are the Conditions for Terminating or Breaking a Lease in New Hampshire?
In New Hampshire, tenants must provide written notice for terminating a lease, but they also have certain rights and can break a lease early in certain situations.
Terminating a Lease
When terminating a lease, tenants must provide advance written notice:
- fixed end date leases: 30 days
- week-to-week leases: 30 days
- month-to-month leases: 30 days
Legal Reasons for Breaking a Lease in New Hampshire
Legal reasons to break a lease vary from state to state. In New Hampshire, these may be valid reasons for breaking your lease:
- Early Termination Clause - If your lease contains an early termination clause, you may be able to fulfill your obligation (such as paying a stipulated amount) and end the lease early if none of the following reasons are applicable.
- The Unit Does Not Meet Standards of Habitability - New Hampshire requires that landlords provide a reasonable standard of habitability for rental units. If the rental is not clean and safe, and the landlord is not making repairs, they have not upheld their legal responsibilities and terms of the lease. If the landlord violates landlord-tenant laws, you can easily break your lease.
- Active Duty Military - The Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) protects service members who are relocated for deployment or a permanent change of station. You must meet certain criteria and follow the proper procedure for terminating a lease in this manner.
- Landlord Harassment/Privacy Violation - Harassment from the landlord or violation of privacy may be enough justification for breaking your lease. For instance, landlords in New Hampshire must provide you with an adequate amount of time under the circumstances to enter your unit; landlords are not allowed to lock you out (i.e., change the locks), etc.
- Domestic Violence - Victims of domestic violence should check with local law enforcement about domestic violence protection statutes if moving is necessary for their protection.
How to Break a Lease in New Hampshire on Your Own
Attempting to break a lease can be stressful, especially if you are concerned about your landlord's reaction. It's important to know your rights.
- Carefully read your lease and New Hampshire's landlord-tenant laws. Verify that you understand your rights and obligations as a tenant and are within your rights to break your lease.
- If you think your landlord is reasonable, consider approaching them to discuss. They may be willing to compromise or work with you to find an agreeable situation for both of you (do repairs to make the unit habitable, allow you to sublet, etc.).
- Provide written notice to your landlord. Notify them that you are terminating the lease and include any relevant laws or statutes that support your legally valid reason. Send the letter by certified mail, return receipt requested, which gives you proof that you notified the landlord.
- If you are breaking the lease for invalid reasons, be prepared for potential consequences.
|Lease Type||Notice Time||Statute|
|Week to Week||30 Days||New Hampshire Revised Statutes RSA 540:2|
|Month to Month||30 Days||New Hampshire Revised Statutes RSA 540:2|
|Year to Year||30 Days and two months rent||New Hampshire Revised Statutes RSA 540:2|
Let DoNotPay Handle Breaking Your Lease in New Hampshire
If you want to break your lease in New Hampshire but do not know how DoNotPay can help you get started in 3 easy steps:
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed servicemember breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by your state's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but your state requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
Breaking Your Lease State by State
If you have more questions about breaking your lease in your specific state, check the appropriate link in the table below.
What Else Can DoNotPay Do for You?
Helping you break a lease is just one of the ways DoNotPay can help. We also provide other services to help you with:
- Change of Address
- Reducing Property Taxes
- Breach of Contract
- Power of Attorney
- Canceling Subscriptions
DoNotPay is here to solve problems, so let us help you today!