Everything You Need To Know About Breaking A Lease In Michigan

Break My Lease Everything You Need To Know About Breaking A Lease In Michigan

Tips for Breaking a Lease in Michigan

Sometimes circumstances arise beyond our control. Although breaking a lease in Michigan isn't recommended, it may have to happen when particular situations come up. DoNotPay can help make the process go smoother, so you don't have to worry.

There are plenty of legal reasons for breaking a lease, and you may need to do just that for your own peace of mind. No matter what the problem is, DoNotPay will help you handle the situation promptly. It’s also helpful to understand your renters’ rights in Michigan, so you can stay protected from penalties.

You Signed a Lease in Michigan. What Are Your Rights and Responsibilities?

Michigan tenants have certain rights and responsibilities they need to uphold. These are indicated under the Michigan Landlord-Tenant Law.

MI Tenant Rights

You have five rights that are guaranteed:

  1. You have the right to receive 24 hours' notice regarding a landlord entering the premises.
  2. You have the right to a habitable home.
  3. You have the right to request fixes to your living conditions without retaliation.
  4. You have the right to receive written notice of rent changes or lease amendments.
  5. You have the right to receive your security deposit back, if it's owed, within 30 days.

MI Tenant Responsibilities

As a Michigan tenant, you have the responsibility to take care of the rented space. You must not leave garbage lying around or have it outside your door. You must maintain the property to the best of your ability, and request larger repairs by the landlord in a timely manner. You are responsible for any precedents set within your lease.

Reasons Why Breaking a MI Lease May Be Justified

There are legal reasons where you can break your lease without penalty, including:

  • The landlord has violated your privacy or harassed your family.
  • The landlord turned off your utilities.
  • The unit violates Michigan Health or Safety codes.
  • You are being put on active duty as a member of uniformed services.
  • You are no longer capable of living alone.
  • You or your child were assaulted or stalked.

Minimum Notice Requirements for Ending a Lease in Michigan

There aren't many set laws pertaining to leases in Michigan. However, landlords do have the right to receive notice if you plan on terminating a lease early. You must give notice according to your rent payment frequency:

Rent PaymentNotice TimeStatute
Week-to-week7 daysSection 554.134 (1)
Month-to-month30 daysSection 554.134 (2)
Yearly1 yearSection 554.134 (3)

What Happens if I Break My MI Lease Illegally?

If you leave your lease early, and illegally, you are eligible to pay the full amount of rent that is owed for the remainder of the lease. If you do not pay, your landlord can sue. The amount may go on your credit report if it is not handled in a timely manner.

You will also have a stain on your rental history. When you attempt to get a place in the future, they will know you broke a lease before and may decide not to rent to you. You become a liability to future landlords.

How to Break My Michigan Lease Properly

Your best solution for breaking a Michigan lease is to send your landlord a letter. Indicate your reason for needing to leave early. Apologize for the inconvenience. Let them know that you are free to discuss the options and provide your contact information.

If you are able to pay for the amount your landlord would lose —meaning the remainder of monthly rent times the number of months you had left on your lease—then do so. Your landlord will be much more amenable if you have opted to pay him what you owe without him needing to ask.

Breaking a Michigan Lease With DoNotPay's Help

Whether you need help with lease breaking in MI due to financial hardship, or you have another reason for needing to move fast, DoNotPay is here to help you speak to your landlord and request the lease be terminated without question. We'll draft a letter on your behalf.

Here's how you can get started in 3 easy steps:

  1. Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.

     

  2. Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference, and enter the state the lease was signed in.

     

  3. Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.

     

Then, DoNotPay breaks your lease using one of these customized methods:

  • If you're a uniformed service member breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
  • If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by your state's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
  • If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
  • If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but your state requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.

DoNotPay Handles Countless Services

Breaking a lease in Michigan (or any other state) is just one of the many services DoNotPay offers. We handle countless other problems and provide fast, easy, and successful solutions to each:

Explore our other services and sign up today for quick solutions.

Want your issue solved now?