All About Breaking A Lease In Colorado
It might be noisy neighbors or a new out-of-town job that makes breaking a lease in Colorado essential. If you've never broken a lease before, you might struggle with the best way to do it.
You can try to on your own, but you might face resistance or threats from your landlord. You may need to pay a fee and provide written notice. However, the DoNotPay app can make breaking a lease in Colorado a breeze.
Lease Termination Notice Requirement in Colorado
In Colorado, you when you intend to terminate the lease if you've lived there for more than a year, and if you've lived in the space for more than two years, you need to provide notice of 90 days. This might seem like a lot of time, but the same requires the same time frames if the landlord wants you to leave or to increase your rent rate.
What if I Just Move Out Without Telling My Landlord?
It's never a good idea to move out without providing any sort of notice to your landlord. You may face all or some of these consequences:
- The landlord can sue you for breach of contract
- You may end up paying rent for months when you didn't live there
- Make it harder to rent in the future
- You won't get your security deposit back
- Damage your credit rating
Reasons That Can Be Used to Break a Lease in Colorado
In Colorado, there are some reasons to break a lease early. These include:
- Active military service
- Failure of the landlord to make gas-related repairs
- Domestic violence situation
- Harassment or privacy violations from your landlord
- Unsafe living conditions that violate Colorado health and safety laws
How to Break a Lease in Colorado by Yourself
You can try to break a lease in Colorado by yourself. If you have a good relationship with your landlord, you might try talking to them first. You want to follow up on any agreement the two of you reach by putting it in writing and asking them to sign it. Otherwise, you need to send a letter certified mail breaking the lease in Colorado.
Below is a cheat sheet of how much notice you need to give to your landlord.
|Rent Payment||Notice Time|
|Less than 1 week||1 day|
|1 week to 1 month||3 days|
|1 to 6 months||7 days|
|6 to 12 months||28 days|
Solve the Problem of Breaking a Lease in Colorado With the Help of DoNotPay
When you're ready to break a lease in Colorado, you have solid reasons to do it, and you're committed to going forward. You need to break your lease in the right way, so you and your landlord are happy with the results. If you've already attempted breaking a lease in Colorado on your own, you may have hit a wall.
Here's how you can get started in 3 easy steps:
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed service member breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by your state's tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection but your state requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
DoNotPay Works Across All Companies/Entities/Groups With the Click of a Button
DoNotPay can provide you with a helping hand when you need to break a lease in Colorado. The DoNotPay app offers you advice on other topics related to breaking a lease. Here are some topics to explore:
- What happens if you break a lease?
- How to break a lease without a penalty
- Does it hurt your credit to break a lease
- What are the legal reasons to break a lease?
- How much does it cost to break a lease?
What Else Can DoNotPay Do?
After you take care of breaking a lease in Colorado, there is time to explore your options with the DoNotPay app. Here are some things to try:
- Create the paperwork to sue for breach of contract
- Request a reduction in property taxes
- Change mailing address
- Power of attorney
- How to cancel a subscription
Let DoNotPay help you break a lease in Colorado today!