Steps to Breaking a Lease in Arkansas
A lease break happens when a tenant vacates a property without issuing a notice to the landlord before the period provided in the lease agreement ends.
In Arkansas, tenants are required to give a specific amount of notice before breaking a lease:
|Rent Payment||Notice Time||Statute|
|Week-to-week||7 days||A.C.A. § 18-17-704|
|Month-to-month||30 days||A.C.A. § 18-17-704|
Breaking a lease in Arkansas carries many legal consequences and fines. Arkansas landlords can take advantage of the situation and charge more. Sometimes the amount even totals up to your original lease agreement.
That should not be the case. If you have valid reasons for breaking the lease, you could skip the charges altogether. You may only need to pay a month's rent after vacating the residence. Anything above that can be avoided.
It's difficult to evade these charges when breaking a lease on your own. That's where DoNotPay's break my lease product comes in handy. We'll help you minimize expenses, pay as little as possible, and avoid a possible hit on your credit score for breaking the lease of your Arkansas property.
When Is Breaking a Lease in Arkansas Justified?
Arkansas permits a tenant to break a lease without penalty under these specific circumstances:
- You're shifting to military service. Federal law allows you to break a lease if you begin serving in the military. But you must be part of the uniformed service.
- The property is unsafe or violates Arkansas Health or safety codes. If the residence lacks essential health and safety requirements, you must voice this in writing to your landlord. If they fail to respond in 30 days after receiving the notice, you can break the lease.
- Harassment from the landlord and privacy violations. If your landlord constantly harasses or violates your privacy, you have a legal right to break your lease.
- Domestic violence. Arkansas allows you to break your lease if you're confronting a domestic violence situation on the property. In addition, the state offers such tenants a special place to stay for their protection.
Steps to Breaking a Lease in Arkansas on Your Own
If you wish to break your lease in Arkansas, and your reasons aren't legally justified, there are better options than just packing and going.
To protect yourself and avoid paying hefty fines, you may need to follow steps with the least legal consequences.
These steps are:
- Going through your lease agreement: Reading every section of your lease informs you of the repercussion of vacating your home before the lease expires. Most leases provide options for immediate termination of your contract, but they come with hefty fines.
- Talk to your landlord: Transparency is key when dealing with property owners. To be on good terms with your landlord, give notice as soon as possible.
- Find a new tenant to replace you: A replacement tenant comes in handy if you wish to move out before your lease expires. They allow you to pay the landlord the rent you still owe them for the remaining months.
- Check the lease termination offers: The offer may state that you need to pay a month or two months' rent after vacating or forfeit your security deposit entirely. It's important to confirm with your landlord first. They may reduce the charges or return your deposit even if the agreement says otherwise.
Breaking the lease yourself does not always guarantee that you'll pay fewer charges. Even with these steps, you might still end up paying unnecessary fees.
The process is also exhausting. Locating a suitable replacement tenant could take weeks, and talking to your landlord may bear no fruit.
That's where DoNotPay comes in. Our break my lease product provides four options to reduce the lease fees and make sure you pay the minimum amount.
Break Your Arkansas Lease Using DoNotPay
Here's how you can get started in 3 easy steps:
- Search Break My Lease on DoNotPay.
- Prepare a signed copy of your lease that you can use as a reference and enter the state the lease was signed in.
- Let us guide you through the 4 potential options.
- If you're a uniformed service member breaking a lease to fulfill your service obligations, we'll send your landlord an SCRA Protection Letter.
- If you're breaking your lease for a reason protected by Arkansas' tenant laws, we'll write your landlord a letter detailing your protections for breaking the lease under the relevant law.
- If your reasons for breaking your lease aren't protected by federal or state law, but you'd like to try to convince your landlord to let you break the lease through mutual agreement, we'll draft a hardship letter making your case to your landlord.
- If there are no remaining options for breaking the lease with protection, but your Arkansas requires landlords to mitigate damages to tenants who break their leases, we'll notify your landlord of that obligation and minimize the remaining rent you have to pay.
Why Use DoNotPay to Break Your Lease in Arkansas
Most tenants end up paying more than they should whenever they break a lease agreement. However, this should not be the case.
Whether you break a lease as Arkansas law permits or not, DoNotPay can help you minimize your charges. Working with DoNotPay is recommended because we are:
- Fast: DoNotPay will send a protection or hardship letter fast to explain your reason for breaking the lease before hefty charges are made
- Easy: Follow three simple steps and let us handle the rest.
- Successful: Pay way less than anticipated after breaking your lease, regardless of the reason for doing so.
At DoNotPay, we value all our clients and fight to ensure they only pay what they should after breaking a lease. So if you want to break the lease for your Arkansas apartment, don't hesitate to reach out. Sign up today to get started!