The Quickest Way To Apply for Arizona Victim Compensation
Did you suffer physical harm, mental distress, or financial loss due to a violent crime in one of the Arizona counties? Besides dealing with injuries and trauma, you probably also have to handle medical, counseling, and other crime-related expenses. If these costs represent a financial burden, you should consider applying for Arizona victim compensation.
Sign up for DoNotPay and learn how to apply for the Crime Victim Compensation Program in Arizona in under two minutes. Handle financial issues stress-free, and take time to heal from the trauma without worrying about the money.
Learn About the Arizona Crime Victim Compensation Program
The program covers most crime-related expenses of:
- Individuals who got injured in a crime that took place in Arizona
- Family members or dependents of Arizona homicide victims
- Arizona residents who were victims of international terrorism, such as the 9/11 attack
The ACJC administers the program at the state level, but each county has its own compensation coordinator. You need to apply for the program in the same county where the crime happened.
The AZ Crime Victim Compensation Program is the last resort payer. Before you apply for the program, you need to use all other collateral sources first. Some of the sources can be insurance, Medicaid, restitution, donation, and similar.
The maximum award that a victim can get through the compensation program in Arizona is $25,000. The ACJC gets the money for the victims of violent crimes fund from:
- Annual Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) grant
- Criminal Justice Enhancement Fund (financed by offenders’ fees and fines)
Do You Qualify for Arizona Crime Victim Compensation?
To be eligible to apply for the Crime Victim Compensation Program in Arizona, you have to:
- Be physically injured or mentally distressed in a crime
- Have lost your job because of crime-related injuries
- Have reported the incident to the police in the first 72 hours
- Cooperate with the police during the investigation and prosecution
- Apply for the program no later than two years after the crime
The Crime Victim Compensation Board will reject your application if you:
- Participated in an illegal activity that resulted in injuries
- Refuse to cooperate with the police
- Were incarcerated at the time of the crime
Apply for Arizona Crime Victim Compensation in a Flash With DoNotPay
If you’re interested in applying for the Crime Victim Compensation Program in Arizona but don’t understand the application process, DoNotPay is here to help you out. Why waste hours filing your crime victim compensation application if you can finish everything in a few clicks by using our convenient app?
To apply for the program in a matter of minutes, do the following:
- Access DoNotPay
- Open our Compensation for Crime Victims product
- Tell us whether you’re the victim or the family member of the victim
- Respond to our questions about the crime and your expenses
- Verify your signature
DoNotPay will fill out the necessary forms and send your application to the appropriate office.
You can use our app to apply for crime victim compensation in any state, including:
Which Costs Are Covered by the AZ Crime Victim Compensation Program?
The Crime Victim Compensation Program in Arizona covers the following crime-related expenses:
|Covered Costs||Highest Compensable Amounts|
Medical and dental expenses, including:
|Mental health counseling for up to 36 months from the first session||$5,000|
Lost wages for victims who suffered crime-related injuries
Lost support for dependents of homicide victims
Crime scene cleanup
|$2,000 for professional care
$500 for supply purchase
The program doesn’t cover pain and suffering, attorney fees, and property loss or repair.
Find Out What Happens After You Apply for Crime Victim Compensation in Arizona
Once you send your application to the Attorney’s Office of the county where the crime occurred, the compensation coordinator will develop the case. He or she will review your application and collect the necessary documentation, such as police reports and bills or invoices for the crime-related expenses. The coordinator will then conduct a meeting with the members of the board, who will make a decision.
If the board rejects your application, you can file an appeal. You should send an appeal letter to the appropriate office in your county within 30 days of being informed about the outcome of your claim. To find the address of your county’s Attorney’s Office, consult the Compensation Program page on the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission website.
More Benefits of DoNotPay
DoNotPay is a useful tool for handling many otherwise annoying life’s trifles, including:
- Setting up DMV appointments without a fuss and fighting unfair parking violations
- Getting refunds for canceled or delayed flights that disrupted your travel plans
- Reaching customer services without listening to the annoying elevator music yourself
- Signing up for free trials without revealing your real credit card info
- Verifying accounts with temporary phone numbers, shielding you from unsolicited spam texts and phishing emails
- Finding the highest-paid clinical trials in your area
What Else Can Our Award-Winning App Do for You?
If you think that’s impressive, wait until you’ve heard about other features we boast!
Our legal services have been recognized by the esteemed ABA Brown award, serving as a testament to our abilities to assist you with your small claims issues, free trial auto-renewals, college fee waivers, public records, copyright protection, and much more!